ANC MP Vincent Smith to head up committee to probe party funding

2017-06-21 20:26
Vincent Smith. (File, Misheck Makora, Daily Sun)

Vincent Smith. (File, Misheck Makora, Daily Sun)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town - The ad hoc committee that will investigate party funding won't be all about finding more money for political parties.

Senior ANC MP Vincent Smith made sure to underline this point shortly after he was elected to chair this committee on Wednesday. 

The National Assembly approved the establishment of the committee on June 6. 

The committee’s terms of reference are to inquire into, and make recommendations on, funding of political parties represented in national and provincial legislatures, with a view to introducing amendments to the legislation, if necessary.

The committee will make recommendations on the regulation of private funding, as well as the model of public and private funding for political parties.

Smith said his first thought was that the committee's work should strengthen accountability and transparency. 

"I think it is also about enhancing and protecting our democracy," he said.

"It's not just about increasing funding."

He said budgetary constraints should always be held in mind.

"It is important that our product is such that the voices of the electorate aren't diluted by private interests who look after their own narrow interests."

Public asked for submissions

The committee consists of 11 members, with six from the ANC. These are Smith, his deputy chief whip Doris Dlakude - who also served on the ad hoc committees on Nkandla - Nocawe Mafu, Bongani Bonga, Lindiwe Maseko and Donald Gumede, with Nonhlanhla Ncube-Ndaba as an alternate member.

The four DA MPs will be Alf Lees and James Selfe, with David Maynier and Malcolm Figg as alternates.

Floyd Shivambu will represent the EFF, Corné Mulder the FF Plus, the IFP's Narend Singh - who also served on the ad hoc committee that investigated the SABC board, with Themba Godi of the APC and Moses Khubisa of the NFP as alternates.

Smith was also chairperson of the ad hoc committee that investigated the SABC board. This committee was characterised by camaraderie amongst the members of different parties, and Smith was lauded by all parties for the way in which he chaired the committee.

The public has been given until the July 21 to make written submissions, after which the committee will arrange for interested parties to make oral presentations.

The committee will start its work on August 1.
Read more on:    anc  |  cape town

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.