ANC retains 3 municipalities in KZN

2016-08-04 12:09

Durban - The IEC has confirmed the election results for just three municipalities in KwaZulu-Natal, and counting and auditing was expected to continue into the evening on Thursday.  

The IEC's KwaZulu-Natal chairperson, Mawethu Mosery, said that the municipalities of Mooi Mpofana, Umgeni and Maphumulo had been finalised and that seat allocations had already been done.

The three municipalities were all retained by the ANC.

He said that the process of capturing results had started late last night after counting was completed, and that data capturers were working to collate the results before they could be audited.

"Of the results to be captured in that province, we have a total of 13 510 results to be captured in total, and we can confirm that we concluded the capture of 8 978 results and we have less than 5 000 to capture,” he said.   

Late on Wednesday night, voting continued in the province long after the cut-off time, after strong winds knocked tents to the ground and thousands of voters joined queues. 


Inside News24

Most Read
News In Your Area
Top Lifestyle
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.