BREAKING: Pravin Gordhan, Derek Hanekom among the axed

2017-03-31 00:19
Pravin Gordhan and Jacob Zuma (File, Netwerk24)

Pravin Gordhan and Jacob Zuma (File, Netwerk24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

President Jacob Zuma has announced the changes to his cabinet. Here is his full statement:

I have decided to make changes to the National Executive in order to improve efficiency and effectiveness.

The changes bring some younger MPs and women into the National Executive in order to benefit from their energy, experience and expertise.

I have directed the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers to work tirelessly with their colleagues to bring about radical socio-economic transformation and to ensure that the promise of a better life for the poor and the working class becomes a reality.

The new members are the following:


1.    Minister of Energy, Ms Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi

2.    Minister of Transport, Mr Joe Maswanganyi

3.    Minister of Finance, Mr Malusi Gigaba

4.    Minister of Police, Mr Fikile Mbalula

5.    Minister of Public Works, Mr Nathi Nhleko,

6.    Minister of Sports and Recreation, Mr Thembelani Nxesi

7.    Minister of Tourism, Ms Tokozile Xasa

8.    Minister of Public Service and Administration, Ms Faith Muthambi

9.    Minister of Home Affairs, Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize

10. Minister of Communications, Ms Ayanda Dlodlo


1.    Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration, Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

2.    Deputy Minister of Finance, Mr Sifiso Buthelezi

3.    Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises, Mr Ben Martins

4.    Deputy Minister of Arts and Culture, Ms Maggie Sotyu

5.    Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Mr Gratitude Magwanishe

6.    Deputy Minister of Communications, Ms Thandi Mahambehlala,

7.    Deputy Minister of Tourism, Ms Elizabeth Thabethe

8.    Deputy Minister of Police, Mr Bongani Mkongi

9.    Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams

10. Deputy Minister of Small Business Development, Ms Nomathemba November.

I wish to extend his gratitude to the outgoing Ministers and Deputy Ministers for their service to the country. I also wish the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers the best in their new responsibilities.

Read more on:    pravin gordhan

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.