Cyril Ramaphosa is the new ANC president, Mabuza his deputy

2017-12-18 19:17
Gallery  |  click on thumbnail to view larger image

GALLERY: Jacob Zuma's last moments as ANC president - #ANC54 day 3

President Jacob Zuma will be handing over the reigns of the ANC to a new leader when the announcement of the top 6 is made after the votes are finalised.

Johannesburg - Cyril Ramaphosa is the 14th president of the African National Congress.


After a gruelling election campaign to win the party leadership, 2 440 delegates voted for Ramaphosa to lead the country’s governing party for the next five years.

The losing candidate, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, received 2 261 votes.

The rest of ANC’s next top six are:

Deputy president: David Mabuza (2538)
Chairperson: Gwede Mantashe (2418)
Secretary general: Ace Magashule (2360)
Deputy secretary general: Jessie Duarte (2474)
Treasurer general: Paul Mashatile (2517)

GALLERY: Jacob Zuma's last moments as ANC president - #ANC54 day 3

Visit our special report, #ANCVotes, for all the news, analysis and opinions about the ANC’s national elective conference.

KEEP UPDATED on the latest news by subscribing to our FREE newsletter.

- FOLLOW News24 on Twitter

Read more on:    anc  |  nkosazana ­dlamini-zuma  |  cyril rama­phosa  |  johannesburg  |  anc leadership race  |  anc votes

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.