DA wins Paarl ward from ANC in by-elections

2015-11-12 12:54
(File: DA)

(File: DA)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Pretoria - The Democratic Alliance (DA) and the African National Congress (ANC) retained most of their previously-held wards in Wednesday's by-elections with the exception of a Paarl ward where the opposition claimed a victory over the ruling party.

Nationally, 11 wards were contested in the by-elections with the majority not changing political affiliation.

In the Eastern Cape, the ANC's Nomadama Nobuntu Mgidi was the only candidate contesting Ward 8 in the Engcobo Municipality.

There were two by-elections in the Free State - Ward 33 in the Maluti a Phofung (Qwa Qwa) Municipality where the ANC's Melita Mlangeni-Ramathesele won the seat, and Ward 13 in the Ngwathe (Parys) Municipality where the DA's Salomon Hercules Francois De Jager won 98.78% of the votes.

There were two by-elections in Gauteng. According to the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) results, the DA's Mia Snyman won Ward 73 in Johannesburg with 92.7% and in Mamelodi, the ANC's Mosadisadi Christina Kekana won Ward 16 with 76.6% of the votes.

The ANC's Njabulo Sydney Mnisi won the Nkomazi Municipality's Ward 20 in Mpumalanga with 89.67%.

North West, Western Cape

In the North West, the DA's Martin Coetzee won the Rustenberg Ward 17 by-election with 85.97%, while the ANC's Thembeka Obittah Vilakazi was uncontested in Ward 13 of the Matlosana (Klerksdorp) Municipality.

The ward, previously represented by the ANC, fell vacant following termination of the councillor’s party membership.

The Western Cape had three by-elections with the DA wrestling control of Ward 14 in the Drakenstein (Paarl) Municipality from the ANC. Jo-Ann De Wet won the ward, previously held by the ANC and falling vacant when the councillor resigned, by 57.44%.

The DA's Evelyn Lorraine Sauls inched into Ward 1 in the Cape Agulhas (Bredasdorp) Municipality with 51.04%, while the DA's George Jacobus Kersop secured Ward 2 in the Oudtshoorn Municipality with 73.96%.

Read more on:    da  |  anc  |  pretoria  |  politics

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Competition regulation for a growing and inclusive economy

ADVERTORIAL: The Competition Commission of South Africa is conducting advocacy work in the South African automotive aftermarket industry and has gazetted a Draft Code of Conduct for public comment.

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.