#GuptaLeaks team scoops top award

2018-03-16 16:36
Ajay and Atul Gupta. (Muntu Vilakazi, Gallo Images, City Press, file)

Ajay and Atul Gupta. (Muntu Vilakazi, Gallo Images, City Press, file)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town - News24, AmaBhungane and Daily Maverick on Friday walked away with top honours after being announced the winners of the prestigious Taco Kuiper Investigative Journalism Award at an event held at Wits University.

Investigative journalists from the three media houses were selected for their reporting on the extent of the influence that the controversial Gupta family has had over South African public enterprises, through a series of reports called the #GuptaLeaks.

The recipients of the top award are Branko Brkic, Pauli van Wyk, Lester Freamon, Adriaan Basson, Richard Poplak, Adi Eyal, Micah Reddy, Susan Comrie, Angelique Serrao, Stefaans Brummer, Antoinette Muller, Marianne Thamm, Sam Sole, Tabelo Timse, Pieter-Louis Myburgh, Craig McKune, Lionel Faull, Rebecca Davis and Sally Evans.

News24 editor-in-chief Adriaan Basson said he was "absolutely thrilled" by the recognition.

"This was the perfect collaboration, bringing together the best investigative minds in South Africa in one room. I have no doubt that the #GuptaLeaks contributed considerably to the toppling of Jacob Zuma," he said.

Read more on:    media

Inside News24


Matric Results are coming soon!

Notify me when results become available

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.