Newsrooms must be diverse – Sanef

2016-07-10 21:37
Sanef awarded eight SABC journalists that spoke out against censorship with the Nat Nakasa Award. (Wim Pretorius)

Sanef awarded eight SABC journalists that spoke out against censorship with the Nat Nakasa Award. (Wim Pretorius)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories


Media boards need transformation

2013-09-27 16:23

Boardrooms running newsrooms have not evolved as well as the newsrooms have, the Print and Digital Media Transformation Task Team found. Watch.WATCH

Johannesburg – The South African National Editors Forum (Sanef) has said media houses must ensure their newsrooms become spaces that are reflective of South Africa’s diversity.

Sanef said it had resolved to make the call following allegations of racism in some newsrooms with the latest emanating from eNCA.

“Sanef calls on all media houses, including eNCA, to ensure that newsrooms become spaces reflective of South Africa's diversity, racial make-up and that are open and democratic centres of debate and dialogue.”

eNCA journalists protested against the canning of a story that was apparently spiked because the reporter had worn a doek. eNCA was also accused of refusing to recognise and engage with a newsroom forum.

Sanef issued the statement after its Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Houghton, on Saturday.

No to racism

Sanef said it also discussed “the fight against racism”, with Justice and Constitutional Development Minister Advocate Tshililo Masutha.

Sanef said Masutha addressed the AGM on the national action plan against racism and the proposed bill to criminalise racism, hate speech, xenophobia and related discrimination. “Sanef is looking at making inputs to the bill,” it said.

Sanef also added its voice of support to eight SABC journalists that spoke out against censorship.

“We will continue to support their cause and all who stand against tyranny. In this regard we again urge the SABC to lift their suspensions and end the disciplinary processes in order to begin the process to rebuild public trust especially ahead of the coming crucial local government elections.”

It congratulated the journalists for winning the Nat Nakasa Award that honoured them for speaking out against censorship. 

A new Sanef leadership was also elected including chairperson Mahlatse Gallens, deputy chairperson Katy Katopodis, secretary general Reggy Moalosi, treasurer Adriaan Basson and media freedom sub-committee chairperson, Sam Mkokeli.

Read more on:    enca  |  sanef  |  media

Inside News24


Matric Results are coming soon!

Notify me when results become available

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.