One step closer for SAHRC candidates

2016-11-15 21:23
SAHRC logo. (File)

SAHRC logo. (File)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town - The National Assembly on Tuesday approved the nominations of seven candidates to form a new South African Human Rights Commission.

They were chosen after a three-week process by the portfolio committee on justice and correctional services, during which their CVs were made public and calls for comments were made.

MPs voted almost unanimously in favour of the seven candidates. A total of 263 MPs voted in favour of the motion. There was one abstention.

READ: Go home, EFF MP tells SAHRC candidate

The recommended candidates are:

  • Prof Bongani Christopher Majola,
  • Ms Matlhodi Angelina Makwetla,
  • Ms Devikarani Priscilla Sewpal Jana,
  • Adv Andre Hurtley Gaum,
  • Adv Jonas Ben Sibanyoni,
  • Rev Andrew Christoffel Nissen, and
  • Adv Bokankatla Joseph Malatji.

Majola was nominated as SAHRC chairperson and Jana his deputy.

Nissen and Sibanyoni would serve as part-time members and the other five as full-time commissioners.

The motion will go to President Jacob Zuma to be signed into law. They would serve a seven-year term.

Democratic Alliance MP Glynnis Breytenbach said the party supported the candidates, but that the African National Congress had taken too long to get the ball rolling in filling the seven vacancies.

She said the new SAHRC had the potential to fulfil its new duties without political influence, but only time would tell.

Economic Freedom Fighters MP Nthako Matiase said the party was happy with Majola’s nomination as chairperson.

Read more on:    sahrc  |  parliament 2016

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.