Plato reveals new Mayoral Committee for Cape Town

2018-11-11 19:05
Cape Town's new Mayco (Supplied)

Cape Town's new Mayco (Supplied)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town's new mayor Dan Plato revealed his new mayoral committee on Sunday after a fraught period of uncertainty at the council amid the crisis of his predecessor Patricia De Lille.

"It is with great pleasure that I announce today a new, united, diverse, and energised Mayoral Committee (Mayco) to serve and take the City of Cape Town and its residents forward," stated Plato who was voted in on Tuesday.

They are:

Deputy Mayor – Ian Neilson
Assets and Facilities – James Vos
Corporate Services – Sharon Cottle
Finance – Marian Nieuwoudt
Informal Settlements, Water & Waste Services, Energy – Xanthea Limberg
Social Services, Safety & Security – JP Smith
Transport and Urban Development Authority – Felicity Purchase
Area East – Phindile Maxiti
Area South – Zahid Badroodien
Area Central – Malusi Booi
Area North – Grant Twigg

The shake-up comes after the resignation of council chief whip Shaun August, mayoral committee members Brett Herron, Suzette Little and Siya Mamkeli, and councillors Greg Bernado and Thulani Stemela in the wake of allegations levelled against De Lille. 

READ: 6 questions answered about the De Lille saga

"The members I have chosen to serve on this committee have demonstrated their ability to carry out their duties with excellence, their commitment to work together as a united council, and their passion to serve the people of this city," said Plato.

He said the city's Organisational Development and Transformation Plan will be reviewed.

It is likely to result in a different structure which will be taken to the next council meeting for ratification.

He thanked the former Mayco members for their services and was looking forward to working with the new committee. 

Read more on:    da  |  dan plato  |  cape town

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts

Jobs in Cape Town [change area]

Jobs in Western Cape region

SQL Reporter

Cape Town
Communicate Cape Town IT
R10 000.00 - R12 000.00 Per Month

Reporting Accountant

Cape Town
Network Finance Professional / Prudential
R310 000.00 - R360 000.00 Per Year

HSE Manager

Cape Town
Tumaini Consulting
R550 000.00 - R650 000.00 Per Year

Property [change area]

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.