Political parties retain wards in by-elections

2016-01-21 17:32


Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Johannesburg - The ANC, DA and IFP all retained their wards in by-elections held in five provinces on Wednesday.

In the Free State, the ANC retained Ward 4 in Phumelela municipality (Vrede) and Ward 1 in Ngwathe, according to the Independent Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) results.

In Ngwathe, the ANC increased its majority from 52.33% in 2011 to 55.05% in Wednesday's by-election.

The ward in Vrede was uncontested so no voting took place.

The ruling party also retained its wards in KwaZulu-Natal.

In Ward 10, in the Ingwe municipality (Creighton) the ANC retained its seat with 94.30%. In 2011 it received 76.32% of the votes.

In Ward 28 of the Moretele municipality (Makapanstad) the ANC retained its seat as the ward was uncontested.

The DA retained wards in the Eastern Cape, Gauteng and North West, all with an increased majority.

In Ward 5 in the Camdeboo municipality (Graaf-Reinet), in the Eastern Cape, the DA retained its seat with 59.17% of the vote, up from 57.73% in 2011.

In Gauteng, it retained Ward 42 in Tshwane with 96.38% of the vote. This was up from 82.17% in 2011.

In Rustenburg, North West, the DA retained Ward 16 with 89.39% of the votes, up from 84.58% in 2011.

The IFP retained two wards in KwaZulu-Natal.

It retained Ward 10 in the Indaka municipality (Waaihoek) with 47.06% and Ward 15 in the Abaqulusi municipality (Vryheid) with 50.40%.

Read more on:    da  |  anc  |  ifp  |  local government elections  |  local government

Inside News24

Lockdown For
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.