Seven new MPs sworn in

2017-05-04 11:29
New MPs have been sworn in. (Paul Herman, News24)

New MPs have been sworn in. (Paul Herman, News24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town - Seven new MPs have been sworn in on Thursday, including former Democratic Alliance Ekurhuleni mayoral candidate Ghaleb Cachalia.

The seven were seen outside Speaker Baleka Mbete's office on Thursday morning.

Six will serve as African National Congress MPs, and Cachalia as a DA MP.

They were accompanied by the chief whips of both parties, Jackson Mthembu and John Steenhuisen and DA deputy chief whip Mike Waters.

The six ANC MPs are:

  • Jabulane Dube
  • Rachel Adams
  • Mbulelo Nkonzo
  • Simanga Mbuyane
  • Lerato Theko
  • Terrence Mpanza

Four ANC MPs resigned over the course of the last month following President Jacob Zuma's Cabinet reshuffle on March 31.

They were reshuffled Cabinet ministers Tina Joemat-Pettersson, Mcebisi Jonas and Dipuo Peters, as well as veteran MP Rejoice Mabudhafasi.

The caucus had two long-standing vacancies before that.

* This article has been updated.

Read more on:    parliament  |  da  |  anc  |  politics

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.