Here are SA's 9 premiers elected by their provinces

2019-05-22 11:54
David Makhura (Cornel van Heerden, Netwerk24)

David Makhura (Cornel van Heerden, Netwerk24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Provincial legislatures around the country sat for the first time on Wednesday for the swearing-in processes of new MPLs, as well as the election of their respective speakers and premiers.

The ANC's David Makhura, Zamani Saul, Sefora Ntombela, Job Mokgoro, Oscar Mabuyane, Sihle Zikalala, Stan Mathabatha, Refilwe Mtsweni and the DA's Alan Winde all got the nod on Wednesday from their provincial legislatures following the May 8 general elections.

Gauteng ANC chairperson David Makhura beat out the DA's Solly Msimanga with 38 votes to 32 in the Gauteng legislature.

Makhura was nominated by ANC Deputy Chairperson in the province, Panyaza Lesufi. The ANC had scraped through with 50.19% of the votes in the province during the general elections on May 8.

The Democratic Alliance's (DA) Mike Moriarty in turn nominated its caucus leader, Solly Msimanga for Premier of the province.

Msimanga received 32 out of the total 73 votes that were cast. Two of the ballots were spoilt while one was invalid.

Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, Northern Cape

Stan Mathabatha will return Limpopo premier after being re-elected on Wednesday, while Refilwe Mtsweni will assume the position in Mpumalanga after winning being voted in.

In Mpumalanga, Mtsweni was elected after receiving 22 votes in the provincial legislature, beating out EFF candidate Collen Sedibe, who received four votes. There were four abstentions.

In Limpopo, former Makhado mayor Mavhungu Lerule-Ramakhanya was elected speaker of the legislature.

The ANC's Zamani Saul was elected premier in the Northern Cape, while Job Mokgoro was elected in the North West province.

Western Cape, KwaZulu-natal

In the Western Cape, the DA's Alan Winde was elected premier, while Sihle Zikalala was elected in KwaZulu-Natal after standing unopposed.

Winde was elected shortly after the ANC put forward their own leader in the legislature, Cameron Dugmore, as a nominee for premier. Winde received 24 votes, while Dugmore received 10. There were six spoiled votes.

In a speech afterwords, Winde struck a reconciliatory tone.

"I welcome Cameron Dugmore, the leader of the opposition, and leaders of other parties here and I also hope that, in this process, it's not only about the legislative process in the House, but that we also talk about those issues that we all saw when we were out campaigning in the last few months."

Zikalala was elected KwaZulu-Natal premier after he was nominated unopposed in the provincial legislature.

Zikalala's nomination was accepted and confirmed by KwaZulu-Natal Judge President Achmat Jappie in Pietermaritzburg.

"Congratulations Mr Sihle Zikalala," the official provincial government Twitter account tweeted on Wednesday.

Eastern Cape, Free State

Sefora Ntombela was elected in the Free State, while in the Eastern Cape, ANC provincial chairperson Oscar Mabuyane received the nod for premier.

Read more on:    sihle zikalala  |  alan winde  |  pietermaritzburg  |  politics

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.