State of drought disaster declared in 8 provinces

2016-06-09 20:51
(Supplied to News24)

(Supplied to News24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town - A state of disaster has been declared in eight provinces as a drought continues across the country.

This is up from the previous five provinces that were declared to be in a disaster state.

In a statement, Minister for Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs Des van Rooyen, said the drought conditions experienced in most parts of the country were a result of natural phenomenon that were characterised by below normal rainfalls and increased maximum temperatures and heatwaves.

“These conditions have resulted in eight provinces being declared states of disaster, with the exception being Gauteng. However, we have intervened in many parts of the country, with the assistance of state-owned entities, private sector and non-governmental organisations.

“This assistance included the drilling of boreholes and distribution of millions of litres of drinking water,” said Minister van Rooyen.

Read more on:    des van rooyen  |  weather  |  drought  |  natural disasters

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.