Suspended SABC journo's get Nat Nakasa Award

2016-07-09 22:44
(Wim Pretorius, News24)

(Wim Pretorius, News24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Johannesburg - The eight journalists from the SABC currently facing disciplinary hearings were each awarded the Nat Nakasa Award on Saturday evening during an emotional celebration.

The award is made to individuals working in the broadcast, online or print media who show exceptional integrity and courage in their work.

Jacques Steenkamp, Suna Venter, Foeta Krige, Krivani Pillay, Busisiwe Ntuli, Vuyo Mvoko, Lukhanyo Calata, Thandeka Gqubule were all honoured with the award.

They accepted their awards in tears and carrying white balloons.

Krige and Mvoko could not attend the ceremony.

The eight journalists chose to speak out about their concerns with the public broadcaster's editorial policies under COO Hlaudi Motsoeneng.

SABC acting political editor, Sophie Mokoena, who was present at the ceremony refused to give comment on the award winners.

Read more on:    sabc  |  hlaudi motsoeneng  |  johannesburg  |  media

Inside News24


Matric Results are coming soon!

Notify me when results become available

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.