Velenkosini Hlabisa takes the helm as IFP elects first new president in 44 years

2019-08-25 08:16
Velenkosini Hlabisa is the new IFP president. (IFP Twitter)

Velenkosini Hlabisa is the new IFP president. (IFP Twitter)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

The Inkatha Freedom Party has elected Velenkosini Hlabisa as its president, to take over from Mangosuthu Buthelezi who spent more than four decades at the helm. 

"The IFP in KwaZulu-Natal congratulates the newly-elected leadership. We know that they will do good work for the party," Thami Ntuli, spokesperson for the party in that province told News24 on Sunday. 

Ntuli said the election of Hlabisa at Saturday's national elective conference was unanimous. 

The secretary-general is Siphosethu Ngcobo, and the deputy secretary-general Albert Mncwango. 

The national chairperson is MB Gwala and the deputy national chairperson is Thembinkosi Kamadlopha-Mthethwa. 

The treasurer-general is Narend Singh. 

GET THE NEWS at your fingertips and download the News24 app for Android or iPhone.

KEEP UPDATED on the latest news by subscribing to our FREE newsletter.

- FOLLOW News24 on Twitter

Read more on:    ifp  |  mangosutho buthelezi

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.