Vote for the South African of the Year

2017-09-20 09:01

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

UPDATE - We've narrowed it down to the top 3! 

Judge Mogoeng Mogoeng, Kevin Anderson and the Blitzbokke are now in the running for the award.

"The South African of the Year is someone who, with a phenomenal achievement, made you extremely proud to be South African,” says Jan Scannell, the man behind the National Braai Day initiative and the South African of the Year awards.


“Our intention is to highlight exceptional performances by South Africans that bring the country to a standstill, and to acknowledge the special moments where the hearts of the nation beat together, united in pride."  

The “South African of the Year” is a registered trademark, of which the National Braai Day initiative is the legal custodian.

In tune with all activities of the National Braai Day initiative, South African of the Year is being run as a non-profit project with the sole purpose of enhancing the Heritage Day public holiday on September 24 every year as South Africa’s national day of celebration.

Last year's winner was Wayde van Niekerk.

- Read more: Wayde van Niekerk voted South African of the Year 2016


Kevin Anderson

Judge Mogoeng Mogoeng

Luvo Manyonga

Esther Mahlangu

Voting closes at noon on Sunday, 24 September.

Read more on:    heritage day  |  south africa

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.