Zuma appoints new human rights commissioners

2016-12-02 18:26
 Professor Bongani Majola (Supplied)

Professor Bongani Majola (Supplied)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town – President Jacob Zuma has appointed Professor Bongani Majola as the chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission.

Majola has been appointed to the commission for a period of seven years, from January, after he was recommended for the post by Parliament's justice committee.

This comes three months after the advocate applied, and was shortlisted for, the Public Protector position. 

He lost out when all parties, with the exception of the Democratic Alliance, opted for Advocate Busisiwe Mkhwebane.

Majola was appointed along with six other commissioners, the Presidency said in a statement on Friday.

Devikarani Jana has been appointed as the deputy chairperson of the commission, while Andrew Gaum, Matlhodi Makwetla, and Advocate Joseph Malatji were appointed full time.

Andrew Nissen and Jonas Sibanyoni were appointed as part-time commissioners.

"President Zuma wishes the new commissioners all the best in their new important responsibility of entrenching constitutional democracy through advocating and protecting the basic human rights of all South Africans. The president also wishes the outgoing commissioners all the best in their future endeavours."

Read more on:    human rights commission

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.