10 on electoral commission shortlist

2011-09-29 18:01

Johannesburg - Former presidency head Frank Chikane and Helen Suzman foundation director Raenette Taljaard have made the shortlist for new IEC commissioners.

A panel chaired by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng met on Tuesday and agreed on a shortlist of 10 candidates, his office said in a statement on Thursday.

These individuals would be recommended to the National Assembly. The posts of three members of the Independent Electoral Commission would become vacant on October 19.

This was the date when the terms of chairperson Brigalia Bam, deputy chair Thoko Mpumlwana and commissioner Fanie van der Merwe would end.

Commissioner Terry Ismael Tselane, who had served one term of office, had also been nominated.

The other seven are: Bongani Blessings Finca, Paul Malcolm Graham, Smangaliso Mkhatshwa, Sebiletso Mokone-Matabane, Phumelele Nzimande, Illona Tip, and current chief electoral officer Pansy Tlakula.

The selection panel comprised SA Human Rights Commission chair Lawrence Mushwana, acting chair of the Commission for Gender Equality Mfanozelwe Shozi and Public Protector Thuli Madonsela.

The Electoral Commission Act 51 of 1996 mandates the panel to recommend candidates to the National Assembly for appointment by President Jacob Zuma.

  • leonard - 2011-09-29 18:50

    Must say that having seen Thuli Madonsela`s name on the selection panel I feel a sense of relief at absolute fairness at the outset of this undertaking.Hope there are no surprises later.

      Proffie - 2011-09-29 19:02

      And the name of Raenette Taljaard. Remeber a few radio interviews with her. Not an idiot or government lacky by any stretch of the imagination. Yes, Madonsela on the selection panel can only be good for all.

  • pages:
  • 1