ANC wins majority of by-elections

2013-04-25 15:15
(Picture: Sapa)

(Picture: Sapa)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Johannesburg - The ANC won most of the municipal by-elections held this week, the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) said on Thursday.

"The African National Congress [ANC] won 10 of the 19 municipal ward by-elections which took place on Wednesday," spokesperson Kate Bapela said in a statement.

"Of the remaining seats, five went to the Democratic Alliance [DA] and three went to the independent candidates, whereas [the] Pan Africanist Congress of Azania won one seat."

There was an average voter turnout of 33%, with actual turnout of between 73.3% and 19.5%.

In the Eastern Cape, two by-elections were held, but only one was contested.

The ANC's Bandile Nicholas Nqodi retained his seat in Ward 5, in Elundini (Mount Fletcher), and the party's candidate Nceba Hokwana retained his seat in Ward 5 in Engcobo Municipality.

In the Free State two by-elections were held in wards which became vacant when the councillors resigned.

Independent candidate Morena William Thabiso Mabaleng won Ward 7 in Setsoto (Senekal) municipality, which the ANC previously held.

In Ward 10 of the Metsimaholo (Sasolburg) municipality, the ANC retained its seat, which Nokuthula Mirriam Mtshali won.

Two by-elections were held in the North West.

Ward 9, Rustenburg, which became vacant when the ANC councillor died, was won by the party's candidate Glen Michael Mutle.

The DA also retained its seat in Ward 14, Tswaing (Delareyville), with Paul Stephanus Bam replacing a DA councillor who resigned.

In Gauteng, the DA retained Ward 115, with the election of Councillor Christopher Glen Santana, following a resignation.

In the Cape

There was also only one by-election in the Northern Cape, where independent candidate Paul Vries was elected in Ward 3, !KHEIS, in the Groblershoop municipality. The seat was previously held by the ANC.

In the Western Cape, the DA retained Ward Seven, in Hessequa (Heidelberg/Riversdale) municipality, with the election of Adriana Maria Joubert, following a resignation.

In Mpumalanga, the DA retained Ward 17, Mbombela (Nelspruit) municipality with the election of Werner le Grange, and Ward 30 with the election of Trudie Maria Johanna Grova Morgan.

In Ward 10, Nkomazi municipality, an ANC seat was uncontested and went to the ANC's Jabulile Zodwa Mtileni.

Seven by-elections were held in Limpopo.

The ANC's Mahlalele Donald Hlangwini retained the party's seat in Ward 24 in the Greater Tzaneen municipality; and the PAC's Thomani Paul Thabela won Ward 33 in Thulamela (Thohoyandou) municipality from the ANC.

ANC candidate Selege Paul Diketane kept the party's seat in Ward 25 in the Makhuduthamaga (Ngwaritsi) municipality, Kotupo Elizabeth Dieale in Ward 27, and Phashe Jonas Marutla in Ward 28.

In Ward 20 of the Greater Tubatse municipality, the ANC's Putina Joel Hlatywayo replaced an independent candidate who died, while independent candidate Alfred Welly Mboyane won Ward 23 from the ANC, whose councillor had resigned.

A by-election in the Abaqulusi municipality's Ward 22 could not be held on Wednesday because of to an Electoral Court order, which allowed Andre Lotter to run as an independent candidate.

Lotter was previously an ANC candidate in the Vryheid ward.

Read more on:    da  |  anc  |  iec  |  johannesburg  |  politics

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.