Axed ministers to chair portfolio committees

2014-06-12 17:49

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories


SA Cabinet lacks experience and skills- analyst

2014-05-27 15:58

Experienced and skilled Cabinet members are lacking in South Africa, but that's not a uniquely South African problem according to political analyst Daniel Silke.WATCH

Cape Town - Four axed Cabinet ministers will chair portfolio committees in the new Parliament, the African National Congress revealed on Thursday.

Paul Mashatile has been nominated to chair the standing committee on appropriations after being dropped from President Jacob Zuma's Cabinet.

Mashatile served as arts and culture minister from 2010 to 2014, a portfolio now occupied by Nathi Mthethwa.

Former communications minister Yunus Carrim was nominated chairperson of Parliament's finance committee.

Carrim, an MP since 1994, served as chairperson of various committees before his Cabinet appointment, including the justice committee which saw to the demise of the Scorpions in 2008.

Connie September, who served less than a year as human settlements minister before being axed from Zuma's Cabinet, will chair the state security committee.

Ben Martins, also in his 20th year as an ANC MP in Parliament, returns as public works committee chairperson.

Before being dropped from Zuma's Cabinet, Martins served as home affairs committee chairperson, deputy public enterprises minister, transport minister and energy minister - a post he held since July last year before also being dropped from the new Cabinet.

Another former minister in ex-president Thabo Mbeki's Cabinet, Thoko Didiza, is expected to become a house chairperson.

The full list of MPs named on Thursday are:

- Agriculture, forestry and fisheries: Rosina Semenya;

- Arts and culture: Xoliswa Tom;

- Basic education: Nomalungelo Gina;

- Communications: Joyce Moloi-Moropa;

- Cooperative governance and traditional affairs: Richard Mdakane;

- Defence and military veterans: Stanley Motimele;

- Economic development: Busi Coleman;

- Energy: Fikile Majola;

- Environmental affairs: Jackson Mthembu;

- Finance: Yunis Carrim;

- Health: Lindelwa Dunjwa;

- Higher education: Yvonne Phosa;

- Home affairs: Buoang Mashile;

- Human settlements: Nocawe Nafu;

- International relations and co-operation: Moses Masango;

- Justice and correctional services: Mathole Motshekga;

- Labour: Lumka Yengeni;

- Mineral resources: Sahlulele Luzipho;

- Police: Francois Beukman;

- Public enterprises: Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba;

- Public service and administration: Peace Mabe;

- Public works: Ben Martins;

- Rural development and land reform: Phumzile Mabila;

- Science and technology: Bevan Goqwana;

- Small business development: Ruth Bhengu;

- Social development: Rosemary Capa;

- Sport and recreation: Beauty Dlulane;

- State security: Connie September;

- Telecommunications and postal: Mmamoloko Kubayi;

- Trade and industry: Joan Fubbs;

- Transport: Dikeledi Magadzi;

- Tourism: Beatrice Ngcobo;

- Water and sanitation: Mlungisi Johnson;

- Women: Thandi Memela;

- Standing committee on appropriations: Paul Mashatile;

- Standing committee on public accounts (Scopa): Themba Godi;

- Standing committee on auditor general: Vincent Smith;

- Multi party women's caucus: Rosalia Morutoa; and

- Ethics: Amos Masondo;

The nominated chairs will be formally elected once the committees sit for the first time.

The nominations for house chairs are: Cedric Frolick, Thoko Didiza and Mmatlala Boroto.

Didiza will also join Motshekga, Magadzi and Edwin Makue of the National Council of Provinces as members of the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

Pallo Jordan, Thandi Memela and Litho Suka are the MPs chosen to serve on the Pan African Parliament.

The ANC caucus chairperson is Seiso Mahai.

Read more on:    politics

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.