Mbete back as Speaker

2014-05-21 18:52

Cape Town - The National Assembly on Wednesday elected ANC national chair Baleka Mbete Speaker after 400 new MPs took their seats - ranging from the red-clad initiates of the EFF to veterans of the post-apartheid Parliament.

Mbete easily defeated the D's nominee for the post, former ANC Eastern Cape premier Nosimo Balindlela who first defected to the Congress of the People and then to the official opposition in 2012.

Mbete won 260 votes compared to Balindlela's 88. There were 366 ballots cast of which 18 were invalid.

Mbete previously held the post from 2004 to 2008 and replaced the widely respected Max Sisulu, who was sworn in as an ordinary ANC MP on Wednesday.

Political analyst Steven Friedman commented that Sisulu had a reputation for listening to all political parties and Mbete's election was a clear sign the ruling party wanted the Speaker to do "what the ANC wants".

  • SA Citizen - 2014-05-21 19:03

    Part of the corrupt core of the ANC as the chairwoman of the ANC.Bought a fraudulent drivers licence in Mpumalanga.And got a share of R28 million in the For Pals Gold Fields BEE deal.A share that was described as a bribe by a New York law firm when they were commissioned to do a report on that deal.Also was part of the Travelgate MPs who illegally benefitted. Let us give the real reason for her appointment-protect Number One at all cost.

      Colin Craig Broadfoot - 2014-05-21 19:23

      Already 18 idiots identified. 18 Invalid votes. God help us.

  • lloyd.venske - 2014-05-21 20:11

    Time to pray, only God can see this country through these times.

  • Andrew M - 2014-05-22 07:49

    Going to be fun and games in Parliament this session, with the Malema army of Reds, and a Speaker to ensure no.1 is safe from the opposition.

  • Gillian Sanderson - 2014-05-22 09:23

    Oh - but isn't this is the one who wasn't happy with a R25 million bribe!?

      Andrew M - 2014-05-22 09:42

      As corrupt as can be is the only way to get promoted in ANC government as is shown in Parliament.

  • pages:
  • 1