AB wins big at CSA Awards

Johannesburg - AB de Villiers became the eighth player to be named South Africa’s cricketer of the year when he received the award for 2014 at a gala Cricket South Africa (CSA) banquet in Sandton on Wednesday night.

The previous winners of CSA’s most prestigious award at international level are Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006), Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009), Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013) and Vernon Philander (2012).

It was a special evening for AB De Villiers who won four awards in all – the only award for which he was nominated but did not win was the ODI player of the year which went to Quinton de Kock who scored four centuries in the period under review including three in consecutive innings.

De Villiers was also named Test cricketer of the year, was recognised by his peers as SA players’ player of the year and, by popular vote of the public, SA fans’ cricketer of the year.

Imran Tahir was named T20 International player of the year, Steyn won the RAM delivery of the year (he had all three nominations in this category) and Kallis won the KFC ‘So Good’ Award for his century in his final Test match appearance against India.

Marizanne Kapp was named SA Women’s cricketer of the year for the second successive year.

"This has been another great year of wonderful achievements for our top players," commented CSA chief executive, Haroon Lorgat.

"AB’s statistics are sheer class and speak for themselves.

"He is the world’s best batsman, ranked No. 1 in Test match cricket and No. 2 in ODI cricket.

"His highest rating of 935 points in Test cricket is the joint 10th highest of all time alongside Jacques Kallis and Matthew Hayden.

"But that only tells a part of his amazing skills.

"He has always been an entertainer and innovator par excellence while at the same time he has the ability to dig really deep in pressure situations. '

"We all saw his strength of character illustrated against Australia at Adelaide in 2012 and again against India at the Wanderers Stadium last season.

"We are proud of the scale of his achievements and, more importantly, the manner in which he does it.

"He is an exceptionally talented cricketer who always adapts to the needs of the team.

"Our Proteas have again displayed true world-class performances in the past year and I salute not only the award winners but all of them for a year of great performances.

"The fact that there were as many as five worthy candidates for the top award speaks volumes.

“I warmly congratulate all our winners including the likes of our umpires, grounds staff and scorers, without whose contribution the game cannot be played.

"Our domestic cricket remains blessed with great talents and congratulations to all the winners in that category."

In the domestic professional category the Dolphins almost swept the board.

Lance Klusener was named coach of the year, David Miller the RAM SLAMMER and Kyle Abbott both the domestic players’ player of the Year (for the second year in a row) and SACA Most Valuable Player.

In addition, the Dolphins won the CSA fair play award and Wilson Ngobese, head grounds curator at Kingsmead, was named CSA groundsman of the year.

Justin Ontong of the Cape Cobras was named Sunfoil Series cricketer of the season and Heino Kuhn of the Titans the One-Day Cup cricketer of the season.

The Khaya Majola Lifetime Achievement award went to Abe Williams for his services to the game over nearly 50 years.

He represented Griquas as a player for more than two decades and also played for the SA Coloured Cricket Association against the South African African Cricket Board.

He was involved in every aspect of cricket as player, administrator, umpire, groundsman and as coach in which capacity he laid the foundation for the current Griquas coaching programmes.

He is still an active umpire at club level.

Full list of award winners at the annual CSA awards ceremony at the Sandton Convention Centre:

National awards:
SA cricketer of the year: AB de Villiers
Test cricketer of the year: AB de Villiers
ODI cricketer of the year: Quinton de Kock
T20 international cricketer of the year: Imran Tahir
SA players’ player of the year: AB de Villiers
SA fans’ player of the year: AB de Villiers
KFC ‘So Good’ award: Jacques Kallis (century v India in his final Test at Kingsmead)
RAM delivery of the year:  Dale Steyn (bowled Brad Haddin, second Test match against Australia at St. George’s Park)
Women’s cricketer of the year:  Marizanne Kapp

Domestic awards:
Sunfoil Series cricketer of the season: Justin Ontong (Cape Cobras)
One-Day Cup cricketer of the season: Heino Kuhn (Titans)
RAM SLAMMER of the season: David Miller (Dolphins)
Coach of the year: Lance Klusener (Dolphins)
Domestic players’ player of the season: Kyle Abbott (Dolphins)
CSA fair play award: Dolphins
SACA MVP award:  Kyle Abbott (Dolphins)

Operational awards:
Groundsman of the year:  Wilson Ngobese (Kingsmead)
Scorers’ Association of the year: Gauteng Cricket Board
Umpires’ umpire of the year: Shaun George
Umpire of the year: Johan Cloete

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Waratahs 17
Blues 17
loading... Live
Western Force 0
Hurricanes 0
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
52% - 2555 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
48% - 2314 votes