Chad Ho wins Midmar Mile

Midmar Dam - Chad Ho became the first man to win three Midmar Mile titles in a row on Sunday, while British swimmer Keri-Anne Payne clinched a record seventh successive crown in the women’s race in Howick, Kwa-Zulu Natal.

The 21-year-old Ho finished the world’s largest open water race in a time of 18 minutes, 48 seconds, beating fellow countryman Troyden Prinsloo (19:09) and Italian Federico Colbertaldo (19:24).

The Durban-based swimmer, who came ninth in the 10 kilometres open water race at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, led from start to finish at Midmar Dam, where the choppy water conditions were not ideal.

It was the slowest time of Ho’s two previous races after he won the race in 18:27 in 2011 and 18:39 in 2010.

On the women’s side, Johannesburg-born Payne, now based in England, came through in a time of 20:44 to win a sprint finish with American Ashley Twichell and compatriot Danielle Hall-Jackson.

The winning margin was just two seconds ahead of Twichell (20:46) and Hall-Jackson (21:03), while the first South African to finish was Rene Warnes in a time of 22:23 in fifth place.

Payne clinched the title for a seventh time, bettering the record of six that she shared with Natasha Figge (1990-1996).

Results of day two of the Midmar Mile on Sunday:


1 Chad Ho 18:49, 2 Troyden Prinsloo 19:09, 3 Federico Colbertaldo 19:24, 4 Riaan Schoeman 19:30, 5 Henri Schoeman 19:52, 6 Danie Marais 20:01, 7 Abdul Malick Railoun 20:02, 8 Filippo Ton 20:04, 9 Jasper Venter 20:29, 10 Nicholas Kieck 20:39


1 Keri-Anne Payne 20:44, 2 Ashley Twichell 20:46, 3 Danielle Hall-Jackson 21:03, 4 Kayleigh Dawson 22:17, 5 Rene Warnes 22:23, 6 Michelle Weber 22:24, 7 Lucy Charles 22:28, 8 Nicole Brits 22:29, 9 Megan Stephens 22:37, 10 Jasmin Agnaeito 22:38

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 6343 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
6% - 1010 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
21% - 3442 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
33% - 5412 votes