Modise sports star of the year

Johannesburg - Portia Modise was commemorated for her milestone of 100 goals with the sports star of the year award at the SA Sports Awards held at the Sandton Convention Centre on Sunday evening.

The striker last month became a centurion for Banyana Banyana in 117 appearances, in the 5-1 win over Algeria at the African Women's Championship in Namibia.

Olympic swimming champion Chad le Clos bagged the sportsman of the year accolade, while road cycling champion Ashleigh Moolman Pasio won the sportswoman of the year award.

Paralympic hand-cyclist Justine Asher won the sportswoman of the year with a disability award, and wheelchair racer Ernst van Dyk the sportsman of the year with a disability.

Gezelle Magerman was rewarded for her exploits earlier this year, that included a gold medal in the 400m hurdles at the Youth Olympics in China, with newcomer of the year award.

The world beating South African under-19 cricket team walked away with the team of the year.

Springbok legend Joost van der Westhuizen was honoured with the life-time achievement award.

Having guided Bafana Bafana to qualify for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations, Shakes Mashaba scored the coach of the year award.

Daily Sun sports editor Matthews Mpete won the journalist of the year award while Reg Caldecott won the photographer of the year accolade.

Administrator of the year winner was Nokuzola Patience Thamae, while Sandile Mqadi took the volunteer of the year award.

Sport for Social Change Network won the recreational body of the year, and Ncuva from Limpopo received the indigenous games' team of the year award.

The school team of the year category was won by Vorentoe High School from Johannesburg, Oudtshoorn School of Skills were handed the developing school team of the year award, while Triathlon South Africa the federation of the year.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Oman 71/3
Scotland 0
loading... Live
Knights 127/7
North West 42/0
Voting Booth
After the opening weekend of URC action, what did you make of the South African struggles?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It exposed the quality of South African rugby...
38% - 2080 votes
There were positives to take
7% - 364 votes
We shouldn't read too much into one weekend
17% - 910 votes
It will take the SA sides time to adjust to the new competition
39% - 2151 votes