New faces in Cheetahs squad

Cape Town - Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has named a larger training group ahead of next year's Super Rugby competition.

According to Volksblad, there are nine new recruits and two Under-21 players in the squad.

Wing Sergeal Petersen, utility back Joe Pietersen, No 8 Willie Britz, centre JW Jonker, prop BG Uys, flank Devin Oosthuizen, utility back Coenie van Wyk, prop Danie Mienie and flyhalf Clinton Swart are the newcomers in the 55-man squad.

Youngsters Nico Lee (centre) and Tienie Burger (flank) were also added as newcomers.

The squad will convene on November 10 and train until December 12, before re-convening on January 5 ahead of next year's Super Rugby competition.

Aside from the above-mentioned newcomers, three players only joined the Cheetahs before this year's Currie Cup competition and are yet to play Super Rugby for the franchise. They are centre JP du Plessis, fullback Clayton Blommetjies and flyhalf Willie du Plessis.

Centre Johann Sadie and flank Heinrich Brussow will only join at the start of 2015 because they are currently playing club rugby in Japan for the Docomo Red Hurricanes.

Drotske will take charge of the Super Rugby side after Rory Duncan coached the Free State Cheetahs in the Currie Cup while Drotske was away in Europe to learn new coaching methods.

Cheetahs' larger Super Rugby training squad:

Willie Britz, Jean Cook, Carel Greeff, Nicky Steyn, Oupa Mohoje, Devin Oosthuizen, Tienie Burger, Armandt Koster, Heinrich Brussow, Boom Prinsloo, Francois Uys, Carl Wegner, Jaco Nepgen, Freddie Ngoza, Lood de Jager, Jonathan Adendorf, Maks van Dyk, Luan de Bruin, Rudolph Botha, Ewald van der Westhuizen, Heinrich Roelfse, Martin Bezuidenhout, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Ryno Barnes, Elandre Huggett, Coenie Oosthuizen, Caylib Oosthuizen, BG Uys, Danie Mienie

Willie le Roux, Coenie van Wyk, Clayton Blommetjies, Gouws Prinsloo, Aubrey McDonald, Johann Sadie, JP du Plessis, Nico Lee, JW Jonker, Vuyo Mboto, Joubert Engelbrecht, Francois Venter, Jonathan Francke, Rayno Benjamin, Raymond Rhule, Cornal Hendricks, Sergeal Petersen, Ederies Arendse, Danie Dames, Joe Pietersen, Francois Brummer, Willie du Plessis, Clinton Swart, Sarel Pretorius, Shaun Venter, Tian Meyer

Injured: Boela Serfontein, Hilton Lobberts, Elgar Watts, PJ Vermeulen

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
AmaZulu 0
Lamontville Golden Arrows 0
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
52% - 2475 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
48% - 2262 votes