Owen to host Laureus Awards

London - Hugely popular Golden Globe and BAFTA Award winning actor Clive Owen is to host the 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards to be staged in London on Monday, February 6.

British TV and film star Owen, best known for films Closer and Children of Men, will be joined by other illustrious stars from the worlds of entertainment and fashion. Also present will be British actress Thandie Newton, who will be a segment host. Her films include Crash, Mission Impossible 2 and Run Fat Boy Run.

Popular Spanish actress Elsa Pataky and American Luke Wilson, brother of Owen Wilson, whose appearances include Legally Blonde, Old School, Bottle Rocket, and The Royal Tenenbaums will be present, along with Israeli actress and popular model Bar Rafaeli.

The 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards, which recognise sporting achievement, are the premier honours on the international sporting calendar. The winners are chosen by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of 47 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time.

Among the sporting celebrities attending are:

Ade Adepitan
Stephen Donald
Eddie Jordan
Hugo Porta
Giacomo Agostini
Mick Doohan
Kip Keino
Sir Steve Redgrave
Jonathan Edwards
Jamie Redknapp
Franz Beckenbauer
Cadel Evans
John Robbie
Boris Becker
Emerson Fittipaldi
Petra Kvitova
Monica Seles
Sean Fitzpatrick
Henri Leconte
Alan Shearer
Serge Betsen
Mark Spitz
Dawn Fraser
Lennox Lewis
Daley Thompson
Sergey Bubka
Frankie Fredericks
Tegla Loroupe
Alberto Tomba
Schalk Burger
Sir Bobby Charlton
Edwin Moses
Pieter van den Hoogenband
Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson
Nawal El Moutawakel
Paul Collingwood
Ruud Gullit
Esther Vergeer
Johan Cruyff
Alan Hansen
Robby Naish
Patrick Vieira
Nadia Comaneci
Gavin Hastings
Ilie Nastase
Andre Villas-Boas
David Coulthard
Tony Hawk
Martina Navratilova
Steve Waugh
Lawrence Dallaglio
Tim Henman
Marcel Desailly
Dame Kelly Holmes
Sir Matthew Pinsent
Arsene Wenger
Kapil Dev
Mike Horn
Oscar Pistorius
Katarina Witt
Miguel Indurain
Gary Player
Novak Djokovic
Colin Jackson
Morné du Plessis
We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Australia 193/3
England 147/10
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5641 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 939 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
21% - 2965 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
33% - 4794 votes