Para bowlers win gold No. 10

Glasgow - South Africa's para-bowlers once again came to the medal-party at the Commonwealth Games on Thursday as they won another gold medal for Team South Africa.

SASCOC's website reports that after Herman Scholtz and Gyndolene Nel had won gold in the visually impaired pairs finals earlier in the Games, it was the turn of the men’s trips to take their place.

And it was the B6/B7/B8 combo of Derrick Lobban, Roger Hagerty and Dion van der Vyver who took Team South Africa’s gold medal tally into double figures just three days before the end of the Games.

They beat New Zealand 13-11 over 15 exhilirating ends of action at Kelvingrove.

Although it was tight all the way, the boys in green and gold managed to keep their noses in front till the very end.

"We saw some amazingly hard fought bowls of the highest standard today," para-bowls manager Brian Sneag said.

And skipper Lobban was a happy man afterwards. Speaking after emerging from doping control, he said: ‘It’s huge hey, absolutely huge.

"This is the highest bowls accolade one can get but it was a really tough game.

"The New Zealand guys contested well and they held us, although we were well up at one stage, I think about 7-1 up after four ends.

"The last stages were very tight.

"We were 11-10 up and they were lying one shot and then I managed to remove the white which meant that we didn’t need to go into an extra end.

"Coming back with gold is just so important.

"Whenever you are selected for your country there are questions about selections etc and by coming back with gold you just feel like the team have justified their selection.

"We’re now down with our para-bowls competition but now we’ll throw our weight into supporting our fellow bowlers for the remainder of their competition as well as the other codes that are here for Team South Africa."

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
SuperSport United 0
Sekhukhune United FC 0
loading... Live
Tottenham 0
Norwich City 0
loading... Live
Manchester United 0
Crystal Palace 0
loading... Live
Leeds United 0
Brentford 0
loading... Live
India 325/10 & 276/7
New Zealand 62/10 & 140/5
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5546 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 936 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2889 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4728 votes