Past Golden Ball winners

Rio de Janeiro - Recent recipients of the Soccer World Cup Player of the Tournament after Argentina's Lionel Messi picked up the 2014 Golden Ball award on Sunday.

2014 : Lionel Messi (ARG)

2010 : Diego Forlan (URU)

2006 : Zinedine Zidane (FRA)

2002 : Oliver Kahn (GER)

1998 : Ronaldo (BRA)

1994 : Romario (BRA)

1990 : Salvatore Schillaci (ITA)

1986 : Diego Maradona (ARG)

1982 : Paolo Rossi (ITA)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Arsenal 0
Newcastle United 0
loading... Live
North West 4/0
Dolphins 400/9
loading... Live
Lions 193/3
Knights 124/10
loading... Live
Titans 308/10
Boland 234/10
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5388 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 928 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2751 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4602 votes