SWC award winners

Rio de Janiero  - Germany were crowned the 2014 Soccer World Cup champions but which individuals walked away with the prestigious awards?

The 2014 World Cup awards as designated by FIFA after Sunday's final:

Best Player of the Tournament - The Golden Ball

1) Lionel Messi (ARG)

2) Thomas Mueller

3) Arjen Robben (NED)

Top scorer - The Golden Boot

1) James Rodriguez (COL) - 6 goals

2) Thomas Mueller (GER) - 5 goals

3) Neymar (BRA) - 4 goals

Top goalkeeper - The Golden Gloves

Manuel Neuer (GER)

Young Player of the tournament

Paul Pogba (FRA)

Fair Play award


We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
After the opening weekend of URC action, what did you make of the South African struggles?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It exposed the quality of South African rugby...
38% - 2105 votes
There were positives to take
7% - 367 votes
We shouldn't read too much into one weekend
17% - 924 votes
It will take the SA sides time to adjust to the new competition
39% - 2199 votes