Blitzboks: Cape Town Sevens champs!

Cape Town - The Blitzboks have won the South African leg of the World Sevens Series for the third time in a row, proving far too strong for Argentina in winning the Cape Town Sevens by 29-14.

Unlike earlier matches in the day, the Blitzboks started off very well, keeping the ball in hand and through numerous phases, but the visitors defence stood firm.

It was Argentina who scored first, launching a brilliant attack from a turnover and sending German Schulz over for a converted try in the 3rd minute. 

The Blitzboks hit back immediately when the pace of Rosco Specman proved too much for the Argentinian defence.

Justin Geduld could not convert. 

Geduld made amends with an intelligent kick in behind the Argentinian defence, allowing Seabelo Senatla to collect and score an unconverted try in the left-hand corner for a 10-7 lead after 7 minutes. 

Specman continued to terrorise the Argentinians with his electrifying pace and he was again rewarded in the 9th minute when he jinked his way past a defender to score a converted try under the posts.

Argentina refused to lie down and hit back on the stroke of half-time with an important converted try by Axel Muller. 

The two teams went into half-time with the Blitzboks holding a slender 17-14 lead. 

In the second-half both sides struggle to maintain any momentum but it was the Blitzboks who finally drew first blood when Senatla used his blistering pace and width of the field to good effect to round a defender and score in the left-hand corner.

South Africa were now in control and Geduld and De Jongh combined intelligently in midfield with De Jongh scything through to score under the posts. The referee however, ruled that the final pass to him had gone forward. 

Nothing was going to deny the Blitzboks in their home tournament and Ryno Benjamin sealed the match for the hosts after a brilliant break by Cheslin Kolbe.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Australia 185/2
England 147/10
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5641 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 939 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
21% - 2965 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
33% - 4794 votes