Dawie Snyman hits out at penalty try decision

Cape Town - Former Springbok fullback and legendary Western Province coach Dawie Snyman has criticised the decision to award the Sharks a penalty try in their Super Rugby win over the Stormers at Newlands.

The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.

Snyman, 66, does not agree with the decision.

“Siya’s foot was there first. Who is to say Reinach did not deliberately place the ball on Siya’s foot? I’m not saying the Stormers deserved to win, but the decision was wrong,” Snyman told Netwerk24.

Snyman played 10 Tests for the Springboks in the 1970s and was also the WP coach when they won the Currie Cup five times in a row in the 1980s.

Jonker defended himself afterwards, but there appears to be varying opinions on whether he made the right call or not.

Retired South African referee Jonathan Kaplan disagreed with the decision, while a report on the SA Rugby referees website states that Jonker made the correct call.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
After the opening weekend of URC action, what did you make of the South African struggles?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
It exposed the quality of South African rugby...
38% - 2098 votes
There were positives to take
7% - 367 votes
We shouldn't read too much into one weekend
17% - 921 votes
It will take the SA sides time to adjust to the new competition
39% - 2193 votes
Vote