Five African countries agree to common currency

2013-12-02 07:35

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Nairobi - The five member of the East African Community (EAC) economic group have agreed to adopt a single currency.

The leaders of Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi signed a protocol in the Ugandan capital Kampala on Saturday for the adoption of a common currency in 10 years.

“We now have the framework required to unlock the promise of integration,” Kenyan President and EAC head Uhuru Kenyatta said in a statement. “The union will eliminate the costs attendant to juggling different currencies, thereby reducing transaction costs.”

“Businesses will find more freedom to trade and invest more widely, and foreign investors will find additional, irresistible reasons to pitch tent in our region,” Kenyatta added.

Established 13 years ago, the EAC has already created a common market and a single customs union. - Sapa-dpa


SHARE: publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside Travel


#FindYourEscape with Traveller24

Your insider guide to exploring South Africa and the world...
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.