Mercedes on pole for Spanish GP

BARCELONA, Spain - Lewis Hamilton claimed his fourth pole position of the 2014 season on Saturday (May 10) as Mercedes swept the front row for the 2014 Spanish GP on May 11.

Hamilton clocked 1min25.232 to outpace team mate Nico Rosberg by 0.168sec.

It was his first pole in Spain and the 35th of his career.


Hamilton's achievement made him favourite to extend his winning streak to four in a row on a track where eight of the previous 10 races were won from pole and 21 of the last 23 by a driver starting on the front row,

It was the second Mercedes 1-2 of the season.

Daniel Ricciardo took third on the grid for Red Bull after his team mate, defending four-times champion Sebastian Vettel, qualified only 10th after a drive failure early in the final session.

Only Vettel on 35 poles, Ayrton Senna on 65 and Michael Schumacher on 68 have claimed more qualifying triumphs than Hamilton. Valtteri Bottas qualified fourth for a resurgent Williams ahead of Lotus' Romain Grosjean and Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen.

Double champion Fernando Alonso was seventh in the second Ferrari, Jenson Button eighth for McLaren and Felipe Massa ninth in the second Williams, ahead of Vettel.


The session was interrupted after only six minutes when Pastor Maldonado crashed his Lotus at the exit from Turn 3. He was not hurt but the action was red-flagged for five minutes to clear the debris. Maldonado won the race for Williams in 2012 but has a reputation for running up repair bills.

On resumption, Rosberg clocked the early best lap ahead of Hamilton and a revived Vettel in the leading Red Bull, Hamilton complaining that his car was more difficult to drive.

At the back of the field, Adrian Sutil (Sauber) was 17th and missed the cut to Q2 along with Jules Bianchi and Max Chilton of Marussia and the Caterhams of Marcus Ericsson and Kamui Kobayashi, along with Maldonado.

Hulkenberg, bidding to extend his run of top-six finishes to five, was the first man out for Q2 followed by Perez and Bottas.


Rosberg was again two-tenths faster than Hamilton and the Mercedes' men were a half-second quicker than the Red Bulls led by Ricciardo, the Ferraris struggling to stay with them, while McLaren's Kevin Magnussen was eliminated without turning a wheel due to a technical problem.

Out with the Magnussen went Toro Rosso's Jean-Eric Vergne, who also failed to run, along with Hulkenberg, Sergio Perez (Force India), Russian rookie Daniil Kyvat (Toro Rosso) and Esteban Gutierrez Sauber).

Vergne also carried with him a 10-place grid penalty after being released in the pits lane on three wheels on Friday. He will start Sunday's race from the back of the grid.

The shoot-out for pole started with Rosberg and Hamilton leading the way out of the pit lane only to be ushered back in by more red flags after Vettel's Red Bull came to a halt at Turn Three.

"I have no drive, sorry," he told the team.

After a brief delay, Q3 resumed with Hamilton striving to find the balance and speed to match his in-form team mate - which he did with an advantage of nearly three-tenths of a second.

Vettel also asked his team to "say sorry to Lewis" for holding up the Briton as he was distracted by lots of flashing lights in his Red Bull before he pulled off the circuit. TThe incident wrecked his hopes of claiming his first pole position in Spain and may have dented his hopes of retaining his Drivers' crown.

2014 Spanish Grand Prix at Circuit de Catalunya:

Qualifying times

1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min25.232
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min25.400
3 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 1min26.285
4 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 1min26.632
5 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1min26.960
6 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1min27.104
7 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min27.140
8 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min27.335
9 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 1min27.402
10 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull
11 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 1min27.685
12 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 1min28.002
13 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso 1min28.039
14 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber 1min28.280
15 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren
16 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso
17 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber 1min28.563
18 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia 1min29.586
19 Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia 1min30.177
20 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham 1min30.312
21 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham 1min30.375
22 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus

1-10 - third and final qualifying session
11-16 - second qualifying session
17-22 - first qualifying session

Third practice
Second practice
First practice

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2014 Spanish F1 GP weekend. 

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Lockdown For
Brought to you by
Voting Booth
Who do you feel was at fault for Verstappen and Hamilton's Italian GP crash?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
25% - 1423 votes
43% - 2413 votes
They were both at fault
32% - 1782 votes