Ferrari wins all-action Singapore GP

2010-09-26 16:06
ANOTHER WIN FOR ALONSO: Winning Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso (centre) celebrates with second-placed Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel (left) and third-placed team mate Mark Webber after the 2010 Singapore F1 GP on September 26.

ANOTHER WIN FOR ALONSO: Winning Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso (centre) celebrates with second-placed Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel (left) and third-placed team mate Mark Webber after the 2010 Singapore F1 GP on September 26.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Singapore - Fernando Alonso produced a masterful drive on Sunday to win an incident-packed Singapore Grand Prix ahead of a charging Sebastian Vettel to put the World championship title race on a knife-edge.

Starting from pole, the Ferrari star led from start to finish for the second race in a row to take the chequered flag just 0.2sec ahead of the Red Bull driver.

It was a measured performance from the two-times World champion Spaniard who outpaced his title rivals under floodlights for his fourth win of the season and the 25th of his career.

In hot and humid conditions but on a dry track, the other Red Bull of Mark Webber came third to keep him atop the championship standings, leaving McLaren's Jenson Button in fourth.

But it was another disastrous day for Lewis Hamilton in the other McLaren, failing to finish his second GP in a row after colliding with Webber on lap 36, dealing his championship hopes a potentially devastating blow.

Nico Rosberg in the Mercedes came fifth, with Rubens Barrichello in a Williams sixth, Robert Kubica's Renault seventh and Adrian Sutil's Force India eighth.

It leaves the championship race finely poised with four races to go, starting in Japan next month before South Korea, then to Brazil and Abu Dhabi for the finale. Webber now leads with 202 points ahead of Alonso on 191, Hamilton on 182, Vettel a point further back and Button on 177.

Scramble for position

The front row of the grid was always going to be decisive on the tight Marina Bay street circuit where overtaking is difficult and Alonso made the most of starting on pole, as he did in Monza two weeks earlier.

Driving with aplomb and assurance on a track that demands precision, nerve and confidence, he came through the opening corner scramble in prime position ahead of Vettel.

The top five off the grid went through the first lap in the same position, with Alonso first, followed by Vettel, Hamilton, Button and Webber.

But there was disaster for Nick Heidfeld in the Sauber when the German was forced back to the pits for a new front wing following contact with Vitantonio Liuzzi's Force India.
The incident saw the safety car deployed on lap three when Liuzzi's car stopped at Turn 10 to end the Italian's race. Webber took the opportunity to pit early and switch from soft to hard tyres and came back out in 11th.

Alonso was steady at the front and by lap 10 had a 1.8sec advantage on Vettel, which stretched to three seconds by lap 20 as he kept clocking fastest times.

Safety car again

Hamilton was the first of the championship front-runners to pit, on lap 29, with Alonso, Vettel and Button all following him in. When they came out Alonso had a 1.2sec lead on Vettel with Webber up to third, with his early pit stop strategy paying off.

But then the safety car came out again when Sauber's Kamui Kobayashi and Hispania's Bruno Senna hit the wall to end their races. There was a sensational restart with Hamilton trying to pass Webber on the outside and they made contact, with the Briton coming off worst.

The Australian survived but Hamilton, who won in Singapore in 2010, was forced to retire, throwing his steering wheel to the ground in disgust as he got out of the car.

Minutes later Michael Schumacher and Heidfeld collided. Heidfeld's race was over and Schumacher had to pit for a new front wing.

Alonso and Vettel were wheel-to-wheel at the front but the experienced Spaniard held on to win here for the second time in three years.

2010 Singapore F1 GP provisional results

1 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1hr57mins53.579
2 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull +00min00.293
3 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull +00min29.141
4 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren +00min30.384
5 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes +00min49.394
6 Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams +00min56.101
7 Robert Kubica (Poland) Renault +01min26.559
8 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India +01min52.416
9 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Williams +01min52.791
10 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari +01min53.297
11 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Renault 1 lap
12 Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso 1 lap
13 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1 lap
14 Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso 1 lap
15 Lucas Di Grassi (Brazil) Virgin 2 laps
16 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus 3 laps
r Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin 13 laps
r Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 26 laps
r Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 27 laps
r Christian Klien (Austria) HRT 31 laps
r Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) BMW Sauber 32 laps
r Bruno Senna (Brazil) HRT 33 laps
r Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus 35 laps
r Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Force India 61 laps

Provisional Drivers’ and Constructors’ points after the 2010 Singapore F1 GP

1 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 202
2 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 191
3 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 182
4 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 181
5 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 177
6 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 125
7 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 122
8 Robert Kubica (Poland) Renault 114
9 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 49
10 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 46
11 Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams 39
12 Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 21
13 Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Renault 19
14 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Williams 18
15 Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Force India 13
16 Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso 7
17 Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) Sauber 6
18 Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso 3
19 Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus 0
20 Karun Chandhok (India) HRT 0
21 Lucas Di Grassi (Brazil) Virgin 0
22 Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus 0
23 Bruno Senna (Brazil) HRT 0
24 Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin 0
25 Sakon Yamamoto (Japan) HRT 0
1 Red Bull 383 points
2 McLaren 359
3 Ferrari 316
4 Mercedes 168
5 Renault 133
6 Force India 62
7 Williams 57
8 BMW Sauber 27
9 Toro Rosso 10
10 Lotus, HRT, Virgin 0

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.