EU backs Turkey visa-free travel, fines for refusing refugees

2016-05-04 20:10
(Burhan Ozbilici, AP)

(Burhan Ozbilici, AP)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Brussels -The EU on Wednesday gave conditional backing to visa-free travel for Turks and unveiled an overhaul of its asylum system under which member states that refuse to take a quota of refugees will be fined.

In its latest bid to tackle the biggest migration crisis since WWII, the European Commission proposed making countries pay a "solidarity contribution" of $290 000 per refugee they decline to take.

Turkey has threatened to tear up a March agreement to take back migrants from Europe if the EU fails to keep its promise to allow Turkish citizens to travel without visas to the passport-free Schengen area by the end of June.

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu said visa-free travel could herald a "new page" in Ankara's relations with the bloc.

European Commission Vice President Frans Timmermans said the EU's executive arm would recommend that, if Ankara meets the remaining criteria, the 28 member states and the European Parliament should approve the Turkish visa plan.

"There is no free ride here, and we are clear about what remains to be done," Timmermans told reporters, in response to criticism from several EU states that the deal is too soft on Turkey's rights record.

Turkey must complete five more benchmarks by the end of next month to complete the EU's list of 72 - which include biometric passports and human rights issues - despite making "impressive progress" in recent weeks, Timmermans added.

EU 'must keep promises'

Under the plan, Turkish citizens would be allowed to make 90-day visits to Europe's 26-country Schengen passport-free area for business or tourism without needing a visa. Britain and Ireland are not part of Schengen.

"The EU must stick to its promise," Cavusoglu said in televised comments on Wednesday ahead of the announcement in Brussels.

"Our citizens deserve visa-free travel."

Also on Wednesday the Commission unveiled its long-awaited proposal for replacing its outdated asylum system with a mechanism for relocating refugees in a crisis.

The so-called Dublin rules currently in force have been criticised as obsolete and unfair to countries like Greece, where most of the migrants entered the bloc last year.

Under the Dublin rules, migrants seeking asylum must lodge their application in the country where they first arrived, and should be returned there if they try to move elsewhere in the bloc.

Timmermans said Dublin was "simply was not designed for situations such as these" when the EU has been overwhelmed by more than 1.25 million refugees from Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan and elsewhere since the start of 2015.

He said countries that show they temporarily cannot take any asylum seekers under the mechanism should show "financial solidarity" with states that do take in refugees.

The Commission set the figure at €250 000.

Since the EU-Turkey deal came into force on March 20, numbers of arrivals in Greece have dropped dramatically.

Ankara has agreed to take back all migrants arriving in the Greek islands, on the condition that the EU resettle one Syrian refugee from camps in Turkey for every Syrian refugee that Turkey accepts from Greece.

The EU also agreed to speed up Turkey's long-stalled membership bid in addition to promising visa liberalisation.

But many EU states still have concerns about the legality of the deal and the human rights situation in Turkey, where an increasing number of journalists and critics of President Recep Tayyip Erdogan have been prosecuted.

'Extremely volatile'

The Commission further announced a six-month extension of border controls in the Schengen zone, which have been reintroduced in some places as a result of the migrant crisis and recent terror attacks in Paris and Brussels.

Germany, France, Austria, Denmark and Sweden requested the extension, saying the border situation remains "extremely volatile".

Since 2015 several countries in the Schengen zone have reintroduced border controls due to the migrant crisis - effectively suspending its principle of border-free travel.

EU rules say countries can reintroduce border controls for up to two years, in periods of up to six months at a time, in exceptional circumstances.

The EU earlier this year published a "roadmap" for the restoration of the normal functioning of Schengen "by the end of the year".

Read more on:    eu  |  turkey  |  migrants

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.