Israel not yet ready to ratify nuclear test treaty - PM

2016-06-20 21:35
Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu during a weekly cabinet meeting in Jerusalem. (Gali Tibbon, AP)

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu during a weekly cabinet meeting in Jerusalem. (Gali Tibbon, AP)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Jerusalem - Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu said on Monday that Israel supports a treaty to ban nuclear testing, but signalled his country was not yet ready to ratify a UN pact adopted by the UN nearly 20 years ago.

Netanyahu's office issued a statement on the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty after he met Lassina Zerbo, the head of the Vienna-based organisation which oversees it.

The CTBT, adopted by the UN General Assembly in September 1996, bans all nuclear explosions.

Israel, believed to be the Middle East's sole if undeclared nuclear power, signed the treaty in 1996, but has yet to ratify it.

The statement quoted Netanyahu as saying: "The state of Israel supports the treaty and its goals and has, therefore, signed the treaty.

"The prime minister added that the issue of ratification depends on the regional context and the appropriate timing."

Israel strongly opposed last year's nuclear deal between world powers and its arch-foe Iran, with Netanyahu arguing that it would not block the Islamic republic's path to atomic weapons.

Zerbo, executive secretary of the CTBT Organisation, expressed optimism that Israel was on track toward ratification.

Speaking to AFP, he said Netanyahu "told me the issue of ratifying the treaty is a matter of 'when, rather than if'.

"They are working on the conditions for the 'when'. He said he was committed and supportive of the treaty."

The CTBT has been signed by 183 states and ratified by 164 including Russia, France and Britain, three of the nine countries which have, or are believed to possess, nuclear weapons.

But to enter into force, the treaty needs 44 specific "nuclear technology holder" states to ratify it, eight of whom have yet to do so.

The eight include the six in the nuclear club that have yet to ratify the pact - the United States, China, India, Pakistan, North Korea and Israel - as well as Iran and Egypt.

Read more on:    iran  |  israel  |  military  |  nuclear

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.