US, Europe expel Russian envoys over UK spy attack

2018-03-27 11:11
Russia banned. (Getty Images)

Russia banned. (Getty Images)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Paris – The United States and its European allies on Monday expelled scores of Russian diplomats in a coordinated action against Moscow which they accuse of poisoning an ex-spy in Britain.

Here is a list of the countries and the number of Russians expelled.

US, Canada, Australia

The United States expelled 60 alleged "spies" posted around the country and at the Russian mission to the United Nations.

It also closed the Russian consulate in Seattle over alleged spying at the nearby Kitsap submarine base and Boeing.

The retaliation against Moscow was taken "in response to Russia's use of a military-grade chemical weapon on the soil of the United Kingdom", White House press secretary Sarah Sanders said.

Canada ousted four diplomats, calling the nerve agent attack "a despicable, heinous and reckless act".

Australia followed suit with Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull saying two Russian diplomats had seven days to leave.

European Union

Sixteen EU states have joined Britain in expelling Russian diplomats following a European Council decision last week to react to Moscow within a common framework.

"Additional measures including further expulsions are not to be excluded in the coming days and weeks," EU President Donald Tusk said.

Britain itself has already kicked out 23 Russian diplomats, with Moscow retaliating with a tit-for-tat move.

  • Croatia: One diplomat
  • Czech Republic: Three diplomats
  • Denmark: Two diplomats
  • Estonia: One diplomat
  • France: Four diplomats
  • Finland: One diplomat
  • Germany: Four diplomats
  • Hungary: One diplomat
  • Italy: Two diplomats
  • Latvia: One diplomat
  • Lithuania: Three diplomats
  • Netherlands: Two diplomats
  • Norway: One diplomat
  • Poland: Four diplomats
  • Romania: One diplomat
  • Spain: Two diplomats
  • Sweden: One diplomat

Outside EU

  • Albania: Two diplomats
  • Macedonia: One diplomat
  • Norway: One diplomat
  • Ukraine: 13 diplomats

President of the Ukraine, Petro Poroshenko called for even more action to be taken.

"The next step is to increase the price that Moscow has to pay for its international crimes, including the strengthening of personal, financial and economic sanctions," he said.

KEEP UPDATED on the latest news by subscribing to our FREE newsletter.

- FOLLOW News24 on Twitter

Read more on:    uk

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.