It's SAMA time . . .

By admin
14 April 2011

La Toscana at Montecasino played host to scores of media, record producers and musicians last night, all eagerly awaiting the announcement of the nominees for the 17th Annual MTN South African Music Awards.

While a number of familiar names could be spotted in each of the 55 different categories, some musicians like Flash RepublicLiquideep andDanny K seem to have dominated the different categories.

Soon-to-be-married muso Loyiso Bqala is in contention for Male Artist of the Year, whileLouise Carver goes head to head with afro-pop darling Thandiswa for Female Artist of the Year.

Louise, who is nominated in four categories, is hoping to walk off with at least one golden statuette this year.

“I’ve dedicated 17 years of my life to the music industry and I’ve been nominated for SAMA’s countless times before, but I’ve never won,” she says.

But it’s the Female Artist of the Year award she most hopes to win, even though her Warrior album is also nominated in the prestigious MTN Record of the Year category.

“All the women nominated for best female artist have paid their dues and all deserve to be in this category. I couldn’t sleep last night; I felt like a kid on Christmas because I was just so pleasantly surprised by the nominations.”

Once again, local rockers The Parlotones are pitted against Prime Circle for the coveted Best Rock Album: English category, and it remains to be seen which group emerges the victor come awards night.

The Parlotones also have two videos nominated for Best Music Video of the Year, for The Stars Fall Down and Life Design, which is matched against Freshlyground’s controversial satirical video, Chicken to Change.

Jay from Afrikaans boy band Eden is a nominee for Newcomer of the Year with his album Solo, while electro-pop duo Goldfish are once again nominated in the Best Global Dance Album category for Get Busy Living.

The 17th annual SAMA’s will be held on May 17, 2011, at Montecasino, Johannesburg.

Find Love!