All the winners at the 2016 Critics' Choice awards

Los Angeles — Journalism drama Spotlight picked up the Best Acting Ensemble prize at the Critics' Choice Awards on Sunday night, winning out over films like Straight Outta Compton, The Big Short and The Hateful Eight.

It was the only award that N.W.A biopic Straight Outta Compton was up for at the show, but the film was on everyone's minds on the blue carpet and in the early moments of the evening after it received only one Academy Award nomination for screenwriting.

"They got snubbed, but there are lots of other great films that got snubbed as well," said Neil Brown Jr. before the show began. Brown Jr. played DJ Yella in the film which has picked up its share Guild nominations this season.

"Just everybody talking about it is enough of an Oscar for us," he added.

O'Shea Jackson Jr., who played his father Ice Cube in the film, echoed his sentiments, saying that he's "enjoying the ride, enjoying the party."

Black-ish star Anthony Anderson joked early on about the lack of diversity at the Oscars.

"A lot of actors who win the Critics' Choice go on to win the Academy Award," said Anderson when presenting an early award with co-star Tracee Ellis Ross. "For you, Tracy, that means only half of you gets to go to the awards."

While Anderson was making a joke, the Critics' Choice Awards winners do often reflect who will go on to win the Oscar, making the ceremony an interesting barometer for the season as everyone gears up for the Guild Awards and, eventually, the Oscars on 28 February.

Mad Max: Fury Road has a leading 13 nominations. The film will be competing for best picture with awards heavyweights like The Revenant and The Martian, as well as with box office behemoth Star Wars: The Force Awakens — which was shut out of the Oscar best picture race.

Nominees and winners are voted on by the Broadcast Film Critics' Association. Star Wars was added after initial nominees were revealed.

Early winners from the evening include Fargo for best limited series, Jeffrey Tambor for Transparent, Alicia Vikander for The Danish Girl and Ex Machina for best sci-fi film.

Sylvester Stallone also won best supporting actor for his reprising his role as Rocky Balboa in Creed.

"Before I get into any more trouble I want to say thank you to my director Ryan Coogler. He is a genius. He really made it all happen," Stallone said. "Michael B. Jordan, you're a great, great talent and you're here for a long time."

At the Golden Globe Awards, Stallone forgot to thank his co-star and director during the televised portion of the evening and was harshly criticised for the oversight.

This is the first year the Critics' Choice Awards has combined movies and television nominees into one ceremony, similar to the Golden Globes.

Host T.J. Miller, who stars on the HBO show Silicon Valley hosted the show.

"Celebrities, don't worry. I'm not going to Ricky Gervais this thing," he said at the beginning of the show. "How awkward and abrasive do you have to be to make all of us in this room feel bad for Mel Gibson?"

Here is the full winners list:

Motion Picture Winners

Best Picture: "Spotlight."

Best Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, "The Revenant."

Best Actress: Brie Larson, "Room."

Best Supporting Actor: Sylvester Stallone, "Creed."

Best Supporting Actress: Alicia Vikander, "The Danish Girl."

Best Young Actor/Actress: Jacob Tremblay, "Room."

Best Acting Ensemble: "Spotlight."

Best Director: George Miller, "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Original Screenplay: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, "Spotlight."

Best Adapted Screenplay: Charles Randolph and Adam McKay, "The Big Short."

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, "The Revenant."

Best Production Design: Colin Gibson, "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Editing: Margaret Sixel, "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Costume Design: Jenny Bevan, "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Hair & Makeup: "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Visual Effects: "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Animated Feature: "Inside Out."

Best Action Movie: "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Actor in an Action Movie: Tom Hardy, "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Actress in an Action Movie: Charlize Theron, "Mad Max: Fury Road."

Best Comedy: "The Big Short."

Best Actor in a Comedy: Christian Bale, "The Big Short."

Best Actress in a Comedy: Amy Schumer, "Trainwreck."

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie: "Ex Machina."

Best Foreign Language Film: "Son of Saul."

Best Documentary Feature: "Amy."

Best Song: Wiz Khalifa for "See You Again" from "Furious 7."

Best Score: Ennio Morricone, "The Hateful Eight."


Best Actor in a Comedy Series: Jeffrey Tambor, "Transparent."

Best Actor in a Drama Series: Rami Malek, "Mr. Robot."

Best Actor in a Movie Made for Television: Idris Elba, "Luther."

Best Actress in a Comedy Series: Rachel Bloom, "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend."

Best Actress in a Drama Series: Carrie Coon, "The Leftovers."

Best Actress in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series: Kirsten Dunst, "Fargo."

Best Comedy Series: "Master of None."

Best Drama Series: "Mr. Robot."

Best Guest Actor/Actress in a Comedy Series: Timothy Olyphant, "The Grinder."

Best Guest Actor/Actress in a Drama Series: Margo Martindale, "The Good Wife."

Best Movie Made for Television or Limited Series: "Fargo."

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Andre Braugher, "Brooklyn Nine-Nine."

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Christian Slater, "Mr. Robot."

Best Supporting Actor in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series: Jesse Plemons, "Fargo."

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Mayim Bialik, "The Big Bang Theory."

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Constance Zimmer, "UnREAL."

Best Supporting Actress in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series: Jean Smart, "Fargo."

Best Animation Series: "BoJack Horseman."

Best Reality Show: "The Voice."

Best Reality Show Host: James Lipton, "Inside the Actors Studio."

Best Structured Reality Show: "Shark Tank."

Best Talk Show: "Last Week Tonight with John Oliver."

Best Unstructured Reality Show: "Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown."

MVP Award: Amy Schumer.

Genius Award: Industrial Light & Magic.

(Photos: AP)