Local drama gets two Safta noms before its release

Christia Visser in Tess. (TImes Media Films)
Christia Visser in Tess. (TImes Media Films)

Johannesburg - The feature film Tess, helmed by Meg Rickards has received two Safta nominations ahead of its release at cinemas next Friday, 24 February.

Tess earned a nomination for its leadChristia Visser in the Best Actress category and Best Achievement in Scriptwriting for Tracey Farren – as it continues to attract awards attention 

“It is an honour to be nominated for such a prestigious award, and this for a film that touched my life in so many ways”, says Christia Visser of her latest nomination.  Visser won Best Actress awards at both the Durban International Film Festival in 2016 and at the KykNET Silwerkermfees.

“The whole Tess team is thrilled about the nominations for Christia Visser, whose performance as Tess is breathtaking and courageous, and for Tracey Farren, without whose brilliant book and screenplay, the film would never be.  It’s been a great privilege to work with both of these women”, said Rickards.

Tess has been on a winning streak since its South African premiere at theDurban International Film Festival (DIFF) in 2016 where it won Best Editing, Best Actress and Best South African Feature.  Later, the film won Best Actress, Best Cinematography and Best Editing at the KykNET Silwerskermfees.

Based on Tracey Farren’s award-winning novel Whiplash, Tess is a searing portrait of a young woman, haunted by the events of her youth, who sells her body on the streets of Cape Town. Surviving on her wry humour and handfuls of painkillers. Unable to run from her past, Tess fights back with everything she has as she attempts to exorcise the demons of her past.

Christia Visser (Ballade vir ‘n Enkeling, Hollywood in My Huis) heads a cast that includes Nollywood actress Nse Ikpe-Etim (Reloaded), Brendon Daniels (iNumber Number, Four Corners) and Dann Jacques Mouton (Noem My Skollie).  Lee-Ann van Rooi, Quanita Adams, Amanda Lane, Warrick Grier, Oscar Peterson, Mark Elderkin and Greg Kriek round out the cast.

Watch the trailer here: