MTV Music Video Awards 2005 - Nominees of note

Gallery: who's hot, who's not? Check out the pictures

Green Day garnered eight nominations, joining Missy Elliott and Gwen Stefani as the favoured nominees for the MTV music video awards.

The awards ceremony will be held in Miami next month.

Green Day scored six nominations for its "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" including best video, best group video and best rock video, while the group's "American Idiot" took home two nominations.

Pop-rocker Gwen Stefani, formerly with No Doubt, took six nominations, four for "Hollaback Girl", including best video overall and best female video, and two for "What Are You Waiting For?"

Missy Elliott tied Stefani with six nominations, all for her hit "Lose Control", including one for best hip-hop video.

The candidates were announced Monday in Miami Beach by star rapper Kanye West and "American Idol" champion Kelly Clarkson, in a ceremony hosted by rapper-producer Sean "P. Diddy" Combs.

Irish superstars U2 picked up five nominations for "Vertigo", from their album "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb".

Combs, who will host the star-studded August 28 event, said the ceremony is in for some changes, including rolling out a white carpet - Combs' favorite color - in place of the traditional red runway at the celebrities' entrance.

Combs also said he would offer 100,000 dollars for the night's best dressed person in the "Diddy Sean John Fashion Challenge", as a promotion for his own "Sean John" fashion line.

"You won't have to wait seven days. I'm going to bring the cash with me," said Combs, one of the most influential producers in the music industry.

In a sign of the rise of Latin Americans in mainstream US pop culture, newcomers Shakira from Colombia and Puerto Rican rapper Daddy Yankee also gained nominations alongside Jennifer "J. Lo" Lopez.

Shakira was nominated for her video "La Tortura", Lopez for "Get Right", and Daddy Yankee for "Gasolina".

A list of nominees for the MTV Video Music Awards

Video of the year:
Coldplay - "Speed of Sound"
Kanye West - "Jesus Walks"
Green Day - "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"
Snoop Dogg feat. Pharrell - "Drop It Like It's Hot"
Gwen Stefani - "Hollaback Girl"

Best male video:
50 Cent - "Candy Shop"
Kanye West - "Jesus Walks"
Beck - "E-Pro"
Usher - "Caught Up"
John Legend - "Ordinary People."

Best female video:
Amerie - "1 Thing"
Mariah Carey- "We Belong Together"
Gwen Stefani - "Hollaback Girl"
Shakira feat. Alejandro Sanz - "La Tortura"
Kelly Clarkson - "Since U Been Gone"

Best group video:
Black Eyed Peas - "Don't Phunk With My Heart"
The Killers - "Mr. Brightside"
Destiny's Child feat. T.I. & Lil' Wayne - "Soldier"
U2 - "Vertigo"
Green Day - "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"

Best rap video:
Eminem - "Just Lose It"
T.I. - "U Don't Know Me"
The Game & 50 Cent - "Hate It Or Love It"
Ying Yang Twins - "Wait (The Whisper Song)"
Ludacris - "Number One Spot."

Best R&B video:
Alicia Keys - "Karma"
Mariah Carey - "We Belong Together"
Ciara feat. Ludacris - "Oh"
Usher & Alicia Keys - "My Boo"
John Legend - "Ordinary People"

Best hip-hop video:
Common - "Go"
Nas feat. Olu Dara - "Bridging The Gap"
Kanye West - "Jesus Walks"
Snoop Dogg feat. Pharrell - "Drop It Like It's Hot"
Missy Elliott feat. Ciara & Fat Man Scoop - "Lose Control."

Best dance video:
Ciara - "1,2 Step"
Missy Elliott feat. Ciara & Fat Man Scoop - "Lose Control"
Destiny's Child - "Lose My Breath"
Shakira feat. Alejandro Sanz - "La Tortura"
Jennifer Lopez - "Get Right."

Best rock video:
Foo Fighters - "Best of You"
My Chemical Romance - "Helena"
Green Day - "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"
Weezer - "Beverly Hills"
The Killers - "Mr. Brightside"

Best pop video:
Ashlee Simpson - "Pieces of Me"
Kelly Clarkson - "Since U Been Gone"
Green Day - "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"
Lindsay Lohan - "Rumors"
Jesse McCartney - "Beautiful Soul"

Best new artist in a video:
Ciara - "1,2 Step"
The Killers - "Mr. Brightside"
The Game - "Dreams"
My Chemical Romance - "Helena"
John Legend - "Ordinary People"

MTV2 Award:
Akon feat. Styles P - "Locked Up"
Fall Out Boy - "Sugar, We're Going Down"
The Bravery - "An Honest Mistake"
Mike Jones feat. Slim Thug & Paul Wall - "Still Tippin"
Daddy Yankee - "Gasolina"
My Chemical Romance - "Helena"

Breakthrough video:
Eminem and Ian Inaba - "Mosh"
Sarah McLachlan and Sophie Muller - "World On Fire"
Gorillaz and Jamie Hewlett - "Feel Good INC."
U2 and Alex & Martin - "Vertigo"
Missy Elliott feat. Ciara & Fat Man Scoop and Dave Meyers - "Lose Control"

Best video game soundtrack:
Electronic Arts - "Def Jam: Fight For NY"
Rockstar Games - "Midnight Club 3: Dub Edition"
Konami Video Game - "Dance Dance Revolution Extreme"
Activision Video Game - "Tony Hawks Underground 2"
Electronic Arts - "Madden 2005"

Best direction in a video (artist, director):
Green Day, Samuel Bayer - "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"
White Stripes, Floria Sigismondi - "Blue Orchid"
Jennifer Lopez, Francis Lawrence/Diane Martel - "Get Right"
U2, Alex & Martin - "Vertigo"
Missy Elliott feat. Ciara & Fat Man Scoop, Dave Meyers - "Lose Control"

Best choreography in a video (artist, choreographer):
Amerie, Jamaica Scott - "1 Thing"
Missy Elliott feat. Ciara & Fat Man Scoop, Hi Hat - "Lose Control"
Gwen Stefani, Kishaya Dudley - "Hollaback Girl"
My Chemical Romance, Michael Rooney - "Helena"
Jennifer Lopez, Richmond Talauega, Anthony Talauega - "Get Right."

Best special effects in a video (artist, special effects company):
Coldplay, A52 - "Speed of Sound"
The Mars Volta, Artificial Army - "The Widow"
Gorillaz, Passion Pictures - "Feel Good INC."
Missy Elliott feat. Ciara & Fat Man Scoop, Radium - Lose Control; Ludacris, 20Twenty - "Number One Spot"
U2, Jam Abelenet - "Vertigo."

Best art direction in a video (artist, art director):
Green Day, Jan Roelfs - "American Idiot"
System Of A Down, Jeremy Reed - "B.Y.O.B."
Gwen Stefani, Zach Matthewes - "What You Waiting For?"
White Stripes, Sue Tebbutt - "Blue Orchid"
The Killers, Laura Fox - "Mr. Brightside"

Best editing in a video (artist, editor):
Coldplay, Adam Pertofsky - "Speed of Sound"
Gwen Stefani, Dustin Robertson - "What You Waiting For?"
Foo Fighters, Nathan Cox - "Best of You"
Jennifer Lopez, Dustin Robertson - "Get Right"
Green Day, Tim Royes - "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"
Simple Plan, Richard Alarcron - "Untitled"

Best cinematography in a video (artist and cinematographer):
Coldplay, Harris Savides - "Speed of Sound"
Simple Plan, Michael Bernard - "Untitled"
Green Day, Samuel Bayer - "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"
U2, Omer Ganai - "Vertigo"
Modest Mouse, Danny Hiele - "Ocean Breathes Salty"
White Stripes, Chris Soos - "Blue Orchid"