SAMA 2008: All the Winners!

Besides the usual winning suspects like Malaika, Jimmy Dludlu and McCoy Mrubata there were a slew of surprises. For starters Tasha Baxter got the prestigious Newcomer of the Year nod. Say what? Yep. The English dance pop diva’s Colour of Me beat off debut CDs from Camagwini, Molemi, Mpumi Dhlamini and Tumi. Kudos also went to Somerfaan and K.O.B.U.S.! who outclassed more fancied opposition to win the Best Alternative and Afrikaans Rock awards respectively. And then let’s not forget about DJ Sdunkero, who’s “Maputo Song” scored the public vote to take home the MTN Record of the Year award. Meanwhile, Freshlyground, HHP, Loyiso Bala and Lira all showed just why musical substance will always have more shelf life than seasonally hip one hit wonders.

The Picks of the SAMA 2008 Winning Pack
Four awards for Ma’Cheri including Album of the Year, Adult Contemporary English, Best Duo and Best Engineer (David Langemann).
We said: “a melting pot of patented Afro-pop postcards that range from 1950s Sophiatown shebeen party starters and mid-tempo maskandi-pop cocktails to updates of Bright Blue’s landscaped Afro-pop prayers, lilting African reggae-rockers and more”.
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

Best Rapper: Acceptance Speech
Best Male Artist: Acceptance Speech
We said: “HHP is the real Makoya, stamping these tunes with his potent Tswana lyrics and hypnotic Motswako flavour.”
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

Best R&B/Neo-soul Album: Blow Your Mind
. Best Producer: Crichton Goodwill

We said: “a dash of R&B, a sprinkle of classic soul ballads, a funky hip-hop jam, a Radiohead cover and pure pop grooves galore.” < br> - Read the review
- Listen to clips

Best Music Video: “Ixesha”.
Best-selling Download: “Feel Good”.
We said: “vocal gymnastics and no synthesised sound. Just her sweet, clear vocals over jazzy, soulful music, from the up-tempo, soul-infused “Feel Good”, smooth jazzy hit “Ixesha”. Ah… pure pleasure.”
- Read the review
- Listen to clips
Tasha Baxter
Best Newcomer and Best Pop: English for Colour of My Love.

MTN Record of the Year
DJ Sdunkero “Maputo Song”

The cream of the SAMA 2008 crop
Afrikaans rock
Kobus! Swaar Metaal
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

Seether Finding Beauty In Negative Spaces
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

Somerfaan Kyk of Sy Kyk
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

Urban Dance
DJ Cleo Es’Khaleni Phase 4.
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

Urban Pop
KB My Rhythm
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

Afro Pop
Malaika Sekunjalo
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

Brickz Es’tokfeleni
- Read the review
- Listen to clips

And the rest…
Karen Zoid Postmodern Worl
Traditional a cappella
Ladysmith Black Mambazo Ilembe
Tony Cox Blue Anthem
Traditional jazz
McCoy Mrubata The Brasskap Session Vol. 1
Afrikaans video
Jan Blohm Jan Blohm Live at the Performer
Traditional African adult contemporary DVD
Joyous Celebration Live at the Sun City Superbowl
Global Chart DVD
Harris Tweed Live: Under the Pillows
Traditional Afrikaans
Valiant Swart en Ollie Viljoen Vuur En Vlam
Alan Ladd Sing Country
Adult Contemporary African
Kwela Tebza King Kwela
Traditional African gospel
Lundi Impilo
Contemporary African Jazz
Jimmy Dludlu Portrait
Lifetime Award
Ge Korsten

Afrikaans Pop
Nicholis Louw Hier Naby Jou

Bestselling Album
Ncandweni Christ Ambassadors Izenthembiso Zenkosi

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24