Rock legends AC/DC release 17th album

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Photo: Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images
  • Australian rock legends AC/DC have released their 17th album.
  • Titled Power Up, the album contains 12 tracks co-written by Malcom and Angus Young.
  • Singer Brian Johnson and drummer Phil Rudd have returned to the group for the new project.

Rock legends AC/DC have released their 17th album titled Power Up.

The album, available as of Friday 13 November, comes six years after the group's last release, Rock or Bust.

According to Billboard, Power Up sees the return of British singer Brian Johnson, who left in 2016 "on doctor's orders due to hearing loss", as well as drummer Phil Rudd, who returns after spending time in rehab.

Stevie Young, nephew of the late Malcolm Young, has also joined the band on rhythm guitar.

The 12-track album is made up from a collection of unused tracks co-written by Malcolm and Angus Young over the band's lengthy career, reports ABC News.

The first track from the album, Shot in the Dark, was released in October along with a music video, giving fans a taste of what to expect.

In an interview with Apple Music's Zane Lowe, Angus Young said the album had been ready for a while. "We were geared up to go earlier, but you know the virus kicked in big time."

For Brian Johnson, the timing was perfect to cheer up the world. "I think we waited until the world hit a misery level; a limit of misery with this thing and just said, 'Right, time to cheer it up.'"

Compiled by Nikita Coetzee

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24