Everything you need to know about the Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards

Host Bonang Matheba. (Gallo Images)
Host Bonang Matheba. (Gallo Images)

Cape Town – M-Net’s Mzansi Magic (DStv 161) channel has created a new South African awards show, the Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards that will take place on 26 August.

The Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards done in conjunction with DStv, will be done as a live broadcast on Mzansi Magic.

Viewers get to choose their favourites within categories of the Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards, spanning 10 categories that include famous names from the worlds of acting, music, sport, comedy and others.

Bonang Matheba will be the host of the first DStv Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards.

All the voting details

South Africans can vote via WeChat, SMS and USSD.

On WeChat add ID mzansimagictv and vote up to 100 times for free. Data charges apply. 

Viewers can also vote with SMS by sending a SMS that cost R1.50 (no free SMS’s apply) with the number in the brackets next to the name of each nominee (see the nominees list below), for instance 1A, 2A etc. to 39201. SMS votes are limited to 100 votes.

People can also vote by making use of USSD. To vote through USSD, send the nominee keyword (for instance 1A, 2A), using *120*33033#. Votes are limited to 100 votes. No charges are applicable.

“Our audiences are involved, loyal, vocal and highly engaged especially in relation to their favourite personalities. Social media comes alive as they share their comments and opinions on the trend-setters, news-makers and heavy-hitters of pop culture,” says Reneilwe Sema, the M-Net director of local entertainment, in a statement.

“So to be able to organise and host a gala whose entire focus is on those stars, we believe we can give our viewers an evening of stand-out performance, red-carpet glamour and unforgettable truly Mzansi-styled magic.”

Here are the nominees:

1. Song of The Year
A. Musa ft Robbie Malinga – Mthande
B. Black Motion – Imali
C. Bhizer ft Busiswa, SC Gorna, Bhepepe – Gobisiqolo
D. OkMalumKoolKat – Gqi
E. Prince Kaybee – Charlotte

2. TV Presenter
A. Robert Marawa
B. Pearl Modiadie
C. Phat Joe
D. Bonang Matheba
E. Thembisa Mdoda

3. Comedian
A. Skhumba
B. Summary
C. Celeste Ntuli
D. Tumi Morake
E. Mashabela

4. Rising Star
A. Amanda Black
B. Zamani Mbatha
C. Michelle Mosalakae
D. Sjava
E. Andile Phehlukwayo

5. Radio Personality
A. T-Bose
B. Tbo Touch
C. Anele Mdoda
D. Sgqemeza
E. Ba2cada

6. Actor
A. Ntokozo Dlamini
B. Warren Masemola
C. Siyabonga Thwala
D. Sello Maake Ka - Ncube
E. Themba Ndaba

7. Actress
A. Vatiswa Ndara
B. Thuso Mbedu
C. Masasa Mbangeni
D. Lorcia Cooper
E. Dawn Thandeka King

8. Music Artist or Group
A. Lebo Sekgobela
B. Black Motion
D. Cassper Nyovest
E. Kwesta

9. DJ
A. Black Coffee
B. DJ Zinhle
C. Prince Kaybee
D. DJ Shimza
E. Tira

10. Sports Personality
A. Caster Semenya
B. Wayde van Niekerk
C. Kagiso Rabada
D. Keagan Dolly
E. Akani Simbine

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24