Get ready for more murder, mystery and moustaches: ITV renews Endeavour for an 8th season

Shaun Evans and Roger Allam in Endeavour.
Shaun Evans and Roger Allam in Endeavour.

Cape Town – British crime series Endeavour has been renewed for an 8th season through 2021.

The series serves as a prequel to the Inspector Morse series which ran for seven seasons. 

Production has just started on the 7th season of the show in the United Kingdom. The sixth season was broadcast in South Africa on ITV Choice (DStv 123) in early 2019.

The 7th season of Endeavour which will be broadcast in 2020 will only have 3 episodes as opposed to the mostly four, 90-minute episodes of earlier seasons.

Since 33 film-length episodes of Inspector Morse were produced during 1987 and 2000, the eighth season of Endeavour that will be broadcast in 2021 would equal the original if it also had 3 episodes, or surpass it if it were to have 4 episodes.

Endeavour follows a young detective sergeant Endeavour Morse (Shaun Evans) with the 7th season that will kick off at the start of 1970. After New Year's Eve, a body is discovered in Oxford on 1 January 1970.

Women's liberation will form a major theme of the 7th season.

"In the dawn of women's liberation, social progression and scientific growth, the 1970s begin for Oxford's finest with the discovery of a body at the canal towpath on New Year's Day," says ITV in a press release about the 7th season and announcing the renewal of Endeavour for an 8th season.

"With the only clue in the investigation a witness who heard whistling on the night of the crime, the team have their work cut out to uncover their culprit."

For the seventh season of Endeavour once again all episodes are written by Russell Lewis with the story that will continue after the dramatic 6th season finale that saw chief superintendent Bright (Anton Lesser) take over command of Castle Gate after detective chief inspector Ronnie Box (Simon Harrison) was rushed to hospital, and Alan Jago was shot dead.

Shaun Evans will make his directorial debut as director of the 7th season's first episode.

Returning to the Endeavour cast are Roger Allam (detective chief inspector Fred Thursday), Anton Lesser (chief superintendent Reginald Bright), Sean Rigby (detective sergeant Jim Strange), James Bradshaw (Dr Max DeBryn), Abigail Thaw (Dorothea Frazil), Caroline O'Neill (Win Thursday) and Sara Vickers (Joan Thursday).

Filmed in and around Oxford, the new Endeavour episodes will be executive produced by Mammoth Screen's Damien Timmer, alongside writer and creator Russell Lewis and WGBH's Rebecca Eaton.