Bobby van Jaarsveld the big winner at last night’s Tempo Awards

Bobby van Jaarsveld. (Gallo Images)
Bobby van Jaarsveld. (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The cream of the crop was out on the red carpet and stage when Afrikaans stars were honoured at Emperors Palace in Gauteng on Tuesday nighth at the annual Huisgenoot Tempo Awards.

Singer Bobby van Jaarsveld was one of the night’s big winners. He received three Tempo awards – pop/sokkie album of the year, music video of the year and song of the year.

Riana Nel received two awards – in the categories contemporary album of the year and top-selling CD of the year.

The kykNET soap Binnelanders also made a clean sweep and was crowned soap of the year. Actor Hans Strydom and actress Brümilda van Rensburg, who both appear in the soap, were crowned soap actor of the year and soap actress of the year.

After 40 seasons and more than 600 episodes of Noot Vir Noot, presenter of the series Johan Stemmet was honoured as an Afrikaans icon.

The audience was entertained by performances from Elvis Blue, Adam, Die Heuwels Fantasties, Hemelbesem, Joshua Na Die Reën with Nádine, and the Radio Kalahari Orkes with Rian Malan and Zolani Mahola.

Actresses Rolanda Marais, Diaan Lawrenson, Hildegardt Whites, Leandie du Randt, Quanita Adams, singer Nádine and Hannon Bothma of Glam Guru fame were the masters of ceremonies.

The winners of this year’s Huisgenoot Tempo awards were:

Newcomer Of The Year
Adam Barnard – Ruk My Tot Stilstand

Gospel Album Of The Year
Danie Botha – Ge-anker

Contemporary Album Of The Year
Riana Nel – Die Regte Tyd

Pop/Sokkie Album Of The Year
Bobby van Jaarsveld – Maak ’n Wens

Music Video Of The Year
Bobby van Jaarsveld – Een Vir Een

Song Of The Year
Bobby van Jaarsveld – My Alles

TV Series Of The Year: Actuality, Reality, Games
The Nataniël Tafel

TV Presenter Of The Year
Emo Adams – Jou Show

TV Series Of The Year: Drama, Sitcom
Vallei Van Sluiers

Actor Of The Year: Drama, Sitcom
Nico Panagio – Vallei Van Sluiers

Actress Of The Year: Drama, Sitcom
Leandie du Randt – Vlug Na Egipte

Soap Of The Year

Soap Actor Of The Year
Hans Strydom – Binnelanders

Soap Actress Of The Year
Brümilda van Rensburg – Binnelanders

Film Of The Year
Ballade Vir ’n Enkeling

Actor Of The Year: Film
Bok van Blerk – Leading Lady

Actress Of The Year: Film
Donnalee Roberts – Ballade Vir ’n Enkeling

Radio Presenter Of The Year
Rian van Heerden – Jacaranda FM

Book Of The Year
Deon Meyer – Ikarus

Top-selling CD Of The Year
Riana Nel – Die Regte Tyd

Top-selling DVD Of The Year
Lollos 6 – Lalaland!

Afrikaans icon (Erfenislater)
Johan Stemmet