55th Fleur De Cap winners announced

Earl Gregory in Kinky Boots. (Photo: Claude Barnado/ Supplied)
Earl Gregory in Kinky Boots. (Photo: Claude Barnado/ Supplied)

19 May, 2020 saw the 55th Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards show appreciation to theatre and opera practitioners via video. With a judging panel chaired by radio personality Africa Melane, the awards reflected a dynamic, healthy mix of emergent and established local talent. “From the avant garde to more mainstream entertainment, from exciting new names to seasoned stars and other specialists of the stage, this year’s winners highlight the thrilling and world-class standard of what is on offer to local audiences," says Melane. "We are truly fortunate.”

Kinky Boots, staged at the Fugard Theatre, was the indisputable favourite of the judges, taking a total of six awards. Scott won three, with writer and director Morapeleng Molekoa winning two of these, while G7: Okwe Bokhwe (Like/Of a Goat)also won three, and The Glass Menagerie, two awards.  

This year’s Lifetime Achievement award honoured veteran playwright, director, actor and educator Fatima (Fatts) Dike. Summing up the panel’s comments, Melane said: “She has been instrumental in opening the doors of theatre to all. She educated herself in exile during the struggle, she defied and challenged the laws of segregation and she exposed the abomination of apartheid. We thank her for never abandoning her roots in Langa. Long may she continue to paint with words”.   

Watch a video announcement of the Fleur De Cap Winners

The Innovation Award went to Junkets Publisher’s Robin Malan and Andi Mgibantaka for their contribution to theatre arts, literature and education. Across its range of imprints, said Melane, the publishing house had continued to promote new writers and ideas, also always providing a platform for the expression of diversity and sexual minorities.

He also mentioned that the organisers had decided to replace the Fleur du Cap medallion awarded to Taliep Petersen in 1999. Won for Kat and the Kings as best contribution to a musical or revue, it had been stolen from the late composer’s family home in December.  

Of the total of 59 productions in the running for top honours in this, the 55th year of the awards, the winners were:

·      Best new South African script: Morapeleng Molekoa | Scott

·      Best new director: Morapeleng Molekoa | Scott

·      Best theatre production for children and young people: Lumka

·      Best performance by an ensemble: Abigail Mei, Carlo Daniels, Luxolo Mboso, Siyavuya Gqumehlo, Sivenathi Macibela, Sizwe Lubengu, Sityhilelo Makupula, Yvonne Msebenzi | G7: Okwe Bokhwe (Like/Of a Goat) | Various roles

Okwe Bokhwe (Photo: Mark Wessels/ Supplied)

                                          Okwe Bokhwe (Photo: Mark Wessels/ Supplied) 

·      Best performance in a revue, cabaret or one-person show: Tafara Nyatsanza | Scott | Various roles

·      Best performance by a supporting actor in a musical or music theatre show: Tshepo Ncokoane | Kinky Boots | Angel

·      Best performance by a supporting actress in a musical or music theatre show: Namisa Mdlalose | Kinky Boots | Lauren

·      Best performance by a lead actor in a musical or music theatre show: Earl Gregory | Kinky Boots | Lola

·      Best performance by a lead actress in a musical or music theatre show: Zolani Mahola | The One Who Sings | Herself

·      Best puppetry design: Jenine Collocott | The Old Man and the Sea | Masks

·      Best lighting design: Fred Abrahamse | Equus

·      Best set design: Paul Wills | Kinky Boots

Kinky Boots

·      Best costume design: Birrie le Roux | Kinky Boots

·      Best sound design, original music, soundscape or live performance: Babalwa Makwetu | G7: Okwe Bokhwe (Like/Of a Goat) 

·      Best performance in an opera – male: Bongani Kubheka | La Serva Padrona | Uberto

·      Best performance in an opera – female: Siphokazi Molteno | I Capuleti e I Montecchio | Romeo

·      Best performance by a supporting actor in a play: David Viviers | Cellist with Rabies | Rabies Virus 

·      Best performance by supporting actress in a play: Jenny Stead | The Glass Menagerie | Laura Wingfield

·      Best performance by lead actress in a play: Fiona Ramsay | The Glass Menagerie | Amanda Wingfield

Best Lighting winer Equus (Photo: Jesse Kramer)

                                          Best Lighting winer Equus (Photo: Jesse Kramer/ Supplied) 

·      Best performance by lead actor in a play: Alan Committie | Richard III 

·      Best director: Mandla Mbothwe | G7: Okwe Bokhwe (Like/Of a Goat)

·      Best production: Eric Abraham and The Fugard Theatre | Kinky Boots

·      Award for innovation in theatre: Junkets Publisher | Robin Malan and Andi Mgibantaka

·      Lifetime Achievement award: Fatima Dike

·      Award for most promising student: Cantona James | Stellenbosch University

The judging panel, all respected experts in their fields, from critics to journalists, writers and drama educators, included Dr Beverley Brommert, Maurice Carpede, Marina Griebenow, Thabo Makgolo, Mariana Malan, Roxy Marosa, Dr Wayne Muller, Tracey Saunders, Lwando Scott and Hadley Titus, with Africa Melane as non-voting chair.

Winners each receive R15 000 and a silver medallion.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.