Who are the Earl and Countess of Strathearn: Why Will and Kate have these titles in Scotland

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Prince William and Kate Middleton attend the Earthshot Prize 2021.
Prince William and Kate Middleton attend the Earthshot Prize 2021.
Photo: Samir Hussein/WireImage/Getty Images
  • On Wednesday, the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge kicked of their two-day visit to Scotland.
  • When in the country, the couple are known as the Earl and Countess of Strathearn.
  • These titles were bestowed on them by Queen Elizabeth when they married in 2011.

Who are the Earl and Countess of Strathearn? While many may be asking this question, they already know the answer.

While the couple have been known as the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge since their wedding day, Prince William and Kate Middleton go by different titles in Scotland.

On Wednesday, the royal couple kicked off a two-day visit to Scotland, prompting their Scottish titles to be used as they arrived for their first day of outings focused on mental health in Glasgow.

But why the different titles?

According to People, Queen Elizabeth bestowed three different titles to William when he wed Kate in 2011.

They are the Duke of Cambridge, Earl of Strathearn and Baron Carrickfergus. And when Kate married her prince, she inherited the titles as well.

A long line of Scottish royal titles

Per Royal Central, William and Kate aren't the only royals who hold Scottish titles.

Prince Harry received the title of Earl of Dumbarton at the same time he was named Duke of Sussex just ahead of his wedding with Meghan Markle in May 2018. This would have made Meghan the Countess of Dumbarton. However, both royals lost their titles when they resigned as senior royal family members.

Prince Charles has multiple Scottish titles to his name; however, the one most associated with the Prince of Wales is Duke of Rothesay.

Duke of Rothsay is one of many titles always held by the heir to the throne of Scotland and which now belongs to the first in line to the British throne.

The other Scottish titles associated with Prince Charles are Earl of Carrick, Baron of Renfrew, Lord of the Isles and Prince and Great Steward of Scotland.

As for the rest of the queen's children, Prince Andrew was made Earl of Inverness at the time of his marriage to Sarah Ferguson in 1986. Prince Edward, however, didn't receive a Scottish title when he married Sophie Rhys-Jones in June 1999.

Twenty years later, in 2019, Queen Elizabeth marked his 55th birthday by naming her youngest son Earl of Forfar.

READ NEXT | How the Cambridges are on a mission to modernise the monarchy

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24