West Side Story and Belfast lead the Critics Choice Awards 2022 nominations

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
The cast of West Side Story.
The cast of West Side Story.
Photo: Ramona Rosales/20th Century Studios
  • The film nominees for the 27th Critics Choice Awards have been announced.
  • Steven Spielberg's West Side Story and Kenneth Branagh's Belfast lead the pack with 11 nominations each.
  • The ceremony will be an in-person event held on 9 January 2022 - the same day as the troubled Golden Globes awards.

The Critics' Choice Awards unveiled the film nominees on Monday, with Belfast and West Side Story leading on 11 nods, ahead of Dune and The Power of the Dog on 10.

When it comes to the acting standouts, the two films will go head to head in the Best Young Actor/Actress category with Jude Hill for Belfast and newcomer Rachel Zegler for West Side Story. Both films have also been nominated in the Best Acting Ensemble category.

Best Picture nominees include Dune, The Power of the Dog, Licorice Pizza, Nightmare Alley, King Richard, Don't Look Up, CODA and Tick, Tick… Boom!

"We are so proud to be honouring this amazing list of films and the incredibly talented people who made them during this extremely challenging time," said Critics Choice Association CEO Joey Berlin in a statement.

"All eyes are going to be on the Fairmont Century Plaza red carpet and ballroom on 9 January, when the biggest stars in movies and television will be gathered to celebrate the best of the best in entertainment this past year. In the safest possible environment, it will mark the return of the kind of glitz and glamour we haven't been able to enjoy in far too long."

The winners will be announced at an in-person awards ceremony, which will be broadcast live on The CW network on Sunday, 9 January. Taye Diggs returns as host alongside Nicole Byer.

See the full list of nominees here:

Best Picture



Don't Look Up


King Richard

Licorice Pizza

Nightmare Alley

The Power of the Dog

tick, tick…Boom!

West Side Story

Best Actor

Nicolas Cage, Pig

Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog

Peter Dinklage, Cyrano

Andrew Garfield, tick, tick…Boom!

Will Smith, King Richard

Denzel Washington, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Best Actress

Jessica Chastain, The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Olivia Colman, The Lost Daughter

Lady Gaga, House of Gucci

Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza

Nicole Kidman, Being the Ricardos

Kristen Stewart, Spencer

Best Supporting Actor

Jamie Dornan, Belfast

Ciarán Hinds, Belfast

Troy Kotsur, CODA

Jared Leto, House of Gucci

J.K. Simmons, Being the Ricardos

Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power of the Dog

Best Supporting Actress

Caitríona Balfe, Belfast

Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

Ann Dowd, Mass

Kirsten Dunst, The Power of the Dog

Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard

Rita Moreno, West Side Story

Best Young Actor/Actress

Jude Hill, Belfast

Cooper Hoffman, Licorice Pizza

Emilia Jones, CODA

Woody Norman, C’mon C’mon

Saniyya Sidney, King Richard

Rachel Zegler, West Side Story

Best Acting Ensemble


Don't Look Up

The Harder They Fall

Licorice Pizza

The Power of the Dog

West Side Story

Best Director

Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza

Kenneth Branagh, Belfast

Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog

Guillermo del Toro, Nightmare Alley

Steven Spielberg, West Side Story

Denis Villeneuve, Dune

Best Original Screenplay

Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza

Zach Baylin, King Richard

Kenneth Branagh, Belfast

Adam McKay, David Sirota, Don't Look Up

Aaron Sorkin, Being the Ricardos

Best Adapted Screenplay

Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog

Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter

Siân Heder, CODA

Tony Kushner, West Side Story

Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, Eric Roth, Dune

Best Cinematography

Bruno Delbonnel, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Greig Fraser, Dune

Janusz Kaminski, West Side Story

Dan Laustsen, Nightmare Alley

Ari Wegner, The Power of the Dog

Haris Zambarloukos, Belfast

Best Production Design

Jim Clay, Claire Nia Richards, Belfast

Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau, Nightmare Alley

Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo, The French Dispatch

Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo, West Side Story

Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos, Dune

Best Editing

Sarah Broshar and Michael Kahn, West Side Story

Úna Ní Dhonghaíle, Belfast

Andy Jurgensen, Licorice Pizza

Peter Sciberras, The Power of the Dog

Joe Walker, Dune

Best Costume Design

Jenny Beavan, Cruella

Luis Sequeira, Nightmare Alley

Paul Tazewell,  West Side Story

Jacqueline West, Robert Morgan, Dune

Janty Yates, House of Gucci

Best Hair and Makeup



The Eyes of Tammy Faye

House of Gucci

Nightmare Alley

Best Visual Effects


The Matrix Resurrections

Nightmare Alley

No Time to Die

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Best Comedy

Barb & Star Go to Vista Del Mar

Don't Look Up

Free Guy

The French Dispatch

Licorice Pizza

Best Animated Feature




The Mitchells vs the Machines

Raya and the Last Dragon

Best Foreign Language Film

A Hero

Drive My Car


The Hand of God

The Worst Person in the World

Best Song

Be Alive, King Richard

Dos Oruguitas, Encanto

Guns Go Bang, The Harder They Fall

Just Look Up, Don’t Look Up

No Time to Die, No Time to Die

Best Score

Nicholas Britell, Don't Look Up

Jonny Greenwood, The Power of the Dog

Jonny Greenwood, Spencer

Nathan Johnson, Nightmare Alley

Hans Zimmer, Dune

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24