Cheers to the ones who make us laugh

Kagiso Lediga. (Gallo Images)
Kagiso Lediga. (Gallo Images)

Every year the Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards honours and recognises comedians.

Last night’s event at The Lyric theatre in Gold Reef City, titled The Rhythm of Funny, was really funny. With the variety show comprising sketches, stand-up, impressionists, celebrity performances and witty one-liners delivered by South Africa’s top comedians, it was indeed a hilarious evening.

With more than 12 categories, the awards give comedians a variety of options from which to choose and nominate their own.

Pieter-Dirk Uys was this year’s lifetime achievement recipient for his invaluable contribution to the industry in the past 40 years.

The newcomer of the year award went to Tsitsi Chiumya.

The 24-year-old, who was born and bred in Lebowakgomo in Limpopo, is a game design graduate from Wits University.

He started comedy only two years ago and has already travelled to and performed in Belgium and Namibia.

Chiumya said he learnt to speak English in 2006 and that he regards as by far his greatest achievement and inspiration.

“I was nominated because of the work I put in; making sure I have shows and attend gigs and the fact that I do shows from my own pocket. I am not a template of other people, I have my own voice,” he said.

“I am really humbled to be nominated and being part of this. Winning the award means that I can plan ahead for my career. It means I can use the money from winning the title to increase my corporate rate. I can use it to perform in different places and on greater stages. I also could gain a few more fans. It will be easier for me to step into the sphere of trying to go big. I am definitely happy,” said Chiumya.

And, as the saying goes “laughter is the best medicine”. Let’s hope the award winners continue to make the country laugh. We need it in these dark economic times.

Comedy G award David Kau

Next level award Phil de Lange

The native tongue award Siya Seya

The flying solo award Carvin Goldstone

The comic pen’s award Kagiso Lediga

Best friend of comedy award Gino Fernandez

The game changer award Loyiso Gola

The Savanna comic of the year award Carvin Goldstone

The Savanna Pan-African comic of the year Basketmouth (Nigeria)

The chatz connect audience choice award Abuti Lolo

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24